TV on a Mac Pro...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TMR812, Sep 13, 2007.

1. TMR812 macrumors newbie

Hi,

Let me apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum for this...

I am a new Mac Pro owner (First time Mac user coming over from a lifetime of Windows). I have a Mac Pro 2.66 with 2 x 7300 GT and 5GB of Ram. On my previous Windows machine, I had a TV tuner card with Windows media center. I was able to watch and record TV from my cable. I would like to do the same on the Mac Pro.

I know there are products out there for this, but I thought I would check with some of the veterans, and see what's the best based on hands on experience.

So, I want to hookup regular cable TV (no digital box), and want to be able to watch live TV, and also record (DVR). I'd also like it to have a program guide to be able to know what's on, and setup to record an entire series.

I would appreciate any and all feedback/recommendations.

Thanks,

TMR

2. jerrah macrumors member

I have one of those tuners but I don't think they'll help the OP because he wants to use cable without a tuner box.

Try to find something that works with the Elgato software. :)

3. TMR812 thread starter macrumors newbie

Am I the only one...

I take it mac pro owners don't really do TV on the machines? Is there really no one with experience to help guide me on this?

Help please!!!

TMR

4. Peace macrumors Core

Peace

5. thxdave macrumors member

I feel your pain, TMR. I'm in the process of moving from Windows to Mac as well and I too have had tuner cards in my PCs for years (all ATI's) so I'm watching for an answer as well. The best thing I've seen so far is this:
    http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=products_eyetv250na&PHPSESSID=ec09024c58779c3583a1d07b1d652061
    which seems to cover all the bases but in an external tuner module. I'm not sure what is available as an internal plug-in card.
    dave

6. sanzu3 macrumors regular

sanzu3

i've got an Elgato Hybrid - its great - really great.