TV on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Drea, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. Drea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    Valencia, CA :: USA
    #1
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, so I apologize if it's not, but--

    I was wondering if there was any way to get a cable box connected to my Mac to watch TV? I know you can buy TV tuners out there, but most require the extra purchase of software, too. Story is I got rid of my TV monitor a while ago because we didn't have TV in the first place, so it was just a waste of space in my room.

    I'm currently on a Dual 1.25GHz PowerPC G4 running Mac OS 10.5.2.

    Is there any adaptors or cables, etc. that could connect a TV box to my Mac? Any help would be awesome!
     
  2. jb60606 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Wouldn't EyeTV, or one of that company's other products work? I'm pretty sure it comes with all you need; including software to record live TV, and a built in TVguide. A buddy of mine is using it to receive/record OTA HDTV.
     
  3. Latro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #3
  4. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #4
    EyeTv hybrid is the product that you need for Cable box to the Mac experience...


    Linky: EyeTv Hybrid...


    I use the EyeTv hybrid via the break-away usb - rca/s-video cable.. To record on the mac via said device..

    Use the rca part into usb > set the on-screen controller to channel that you wanna record> cmd-r> done ... :eek:
     
  5. Drea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    Valencia, CA :: USA
    #5
    So far it seems as though the best option is the eyeTV, which I've been eyeing on for almost weeks!

    I'll be checking out the other suggestions.
    Thanks guys!
     
  6. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #6
    The AlchemyTV DVR PCI card is pretty good too.

    I've used ne for a couple of years on my 466 G4, my machine is too slow to record, but yours should be fine. Software comes with the card and is relatively straightforward.
     

Share This Page