TV on Windows XP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ktalebian, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. ktalebian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    Hi
    When I load Windows XP on my MBP, the TV output does not work. It does not show anything. How do I also get the TV work with Windows XP?
    Thanks
     
  2. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
  3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    TV output, huh? Did you install drivers for XP from Leopard DVD?
     
  4. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #4
    Yes I did! But, I still canot connect it to the TV! Why??

    Thanks
     
  5. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    How are you connecting to the tv? Dvi to hdmi?
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Also unless your TV is plug and play, you need to get something like PowerStrip to configure the timings and synchronization settings for your TV.
     
  7. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #7
    The TV works fine with Mac!
    And it is Dvi to hdmi!
     
  8. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    Right-click on the Desktop, go to Properties. Then go to Displays, and click on display 2 in the diagram. Then change the resolution to your TV's native (for 720p TV 1360x720).

    It isn't as easy to configure as a Mac, but you get there in the end ;)
     
  9. EricVT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #9
    Why would you set it to 1360x720 for a 1280x720 television? Does the MBP not support 1280x720 output resolution? Seems like you would have 40 pixels cut off on each side of your 720p display.
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Most 720p TV's have resolutions of 1366x720 (but usually appears as 1360x720). Extra pixels, not less.
     
  11. EricVT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #11
    Well, the standard for 720p broadcast assumes a resolution of 1280x720. Most televisions that are 720p such as DLP televisions are 1280x720 fixed pixel displays, none of this 1360x720 or whatever resolution that makes no sense given the standard in place.

    If the MBP was designed to not be able to output at one of the HD standard resolutions then that is just silly.
     
  12. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    Maybe you should educate yourself: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_television
     
  13. EricVT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #13
    It's quite clear to me:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720p#Specifications

    "720p is the shorthand name for a category of HDTV video modes. The number 720 stands for 720 lines of vertical display resolution, while the letter p stands for progressive scan or non-interlaced....720p assumes a widescreen aspect ratio of 16:9, a vertical resolution of 720 pixels and a horizontal resolution of 1280 pixels for a total of about 0.92 million pixels.

    I don't need to read an entire history of high definition television to know what the 720p standard is, thanks.
     
  14. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    Sigh. Most, if not all modern day LCD TV's that support 720p HD will have a resolution of 1360x720 available for use as a display monitor.
     
  15. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    It depends on your TV. It should say on your user guide. I know mine said 1366x768.
     
  16. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #16
    mmm, i'm not getting the full screen now. I cannot see the four sides fully ...
     

Share This Page