TV2 simultaneous output through optical and HMDI?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by c.greene914, May 30, 2011.

  1. c.greene914 macrumors regular

    c.greene914

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #1
    I am trying to connect speakers to my receiver through Zone 2. The receiver will only accept analog audio as Zone 2 input so I will have to convert the digital output from TV2 for that to work. However I want to still be able to have music in the living room at the same time. So.......can I have both both HMDI and optical connected to the back on my TV2 at the same time and have audio output through both connections?

    My goal is to be able to play music both in the living room and on the outside patio and control the volume independently of one another. This is the best solution I can come up with, if anyone has a better suggestion I'm all ears.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. 87am macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #2
    Don't know for sure, buy I imagine it should work fine. If anyone uses the optical audio cable they are also going to be using the HDMI as well. It be strange to me if the device stripped the audio from HDMI.
     
  3. c.greene914 thread starter macrumors regular

    c.greene914

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #3
    That's my inclination as well. I suppose if optical audio takes precedent I could always buy an optical splitter, run one from the splitter to the receiver and the other to the audio converter and then to the analog input for the receiver. That seems like it would work as well, just brainstorming to try and figure out the simplest, most inexpensive solution.
     
  4. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #4
    The optical output is always active (there is no way for the Apple TV to know whether there is anything connected to it or not).

    A.
     
  5. eTip macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #5
    I can confirm this. Was having problems with my Amp just a couple weeks ago & while troubleshooting had audio from both outputs playing simultaneously.
     
  6. EmpyreanUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #6
    The ATV2 does indeed output audio simultaneously over HDMI and the optical port. However, you should be aware that you could have issues with the sound from each output not being in synch.

    I have my ATV2 connected to a stereo amp by optical digital, and to the TV with HDMI. If I am streaming music to the Apple TV, the TV must be turned off or muted, because the amp plays the audio a split-second faster than the TV. However, from what I understand, the OP is putting both the HDMI and the optical output into the same receiver, so this may not be an issue, especially if he's playing music, as I'm almost certain that the ATV2 decodes music formats and outputs them in LPCM, meaning that the receiver does not need to do any processing.

    Like I said, it probably won't present an issue, but it's something the OP should probably find out before spunking loads of dosh. I would do a quick test for you, but I only have an amp, meaning it has no HDMI input.
     
  7. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
    #7
    Even my low-end "Home Theatre in a Box" has an audio synch fine-tuning adjustment to cope with this problem. Chances are yours does too.
     
  8. cwaddell2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #8
    Used Airport Express Saves the Day

    For just about the price of the splitter/converter business you are talking about, you could buy an airport express used on ebay (doesn't have to be a new version either...got mine for aorund $45). Connect the analog out on the express to your zone 2 input and set it up so the apply tv can airplay to it. You will have the option of separate programs in different places this way too. If someone else in your house wants to listen to their music on the patio, and you wanted to watch the apple tv inside, no problem.

    EDIT: I do realize this wont work necessarily for audio from a video program but didn't think about that when I replied.

    I have 3 airport expresses in a closet, each one feeds a separate zone in my house, back deck, front porch (we are in the south, big porch), and kitchen. My wife has learned to use it (always a plus), and the ability to name the speakers so they show up in itunes helps a lot.

    Let me know if you have any questions about this kind of setup.

    Good Luck!
     
  9. c.greene914 thread starter macrumors regular

    c.greene914

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #9
    I actually already have an airport express and the problem was exactly what you realized in your post. I would be unable to listen to the audio feed from a football game, etc on the porch with the airport express. My goal is to have available audio from all inputs to the receiver in every zone.


    Thank you for the heads up but I don't think it will be a problem. Even if there is no way to correct the sync issue, with the audio being played in the living room and the porch I think don't think it will create an issue.

    Sounds like I will go ahead and buy a DAC and report back.
     
  10. c.greene914 thread starter macrumors regular

    c.greene914

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #10
    This actually raises another question, I would also like to be able to listen to audio from a basketball/football game, movie etc on the porch.

    Would the DirecTV receiver also output audio through all connections simultaneously?

    If not, I remember reading about something that strips the audio from an HDMI connection for an analog audio connection to a separate input. I do not know what this is called or what to search for. Any help with either of these?
     
  11. cwaddell2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #11

    Optical Splitter:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=10423&cs_id=1042301&p_id=966&seq=1&format=2

    You may want to consider an external HDMI switcher which will split out the optical for you, this way you can have one device instead of a separate one for each input on your AVR

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=5557&seq=1&format=2
     
  12. mohmandm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Location:
    east lansing
    #12
    Need optical to analog converter

    I have an Onkyo receiver with Zone 2 and I needed to convert ATV's signal from optical to analog. The HDMI went to my receiver then I sent an optical cord to a converter I bought from monoprice.com with two analog cords going out to my receiver. Works like a charm. Zone 2 HAS to be analog with most receivers.
     
  13. majugolf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #13
    Similar setup

    I've got an Onkyo receiver also and want to play music for Zone 2, and also be able to use AppleTV on my network. Can someone tell me if this plan will work?

    1. Time Capsule with music, photos and video shared on my network.
    2. AppleTV connected by HDMI to my receiver, for video/audio to TV and primary sound zone.
    3. Optical toslink cable to analog switcher to Zone 2 input.

    Will I be able to use my iPhone to control what the AppleTV sends to the receiver? Is it controlled via iTunes or a separate AppleTV app? I'm quite new to Apple products... sorry for asking for the basics. Thanks for your help.

    FYI, I was also considering a SONOS system, but then I lost the video capability and about an extra $225.
     
  14. EmpyreanUK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #14
    You need to have a computer running iTunes (though you can still have your media stored on a Time Capsule, you just need to set that as the location for iTunes's library). You can then either set the Apple TV as the output from iTunes (this feature is called AirPlay), or iTunes can act as a server for the Apple TV, sharing the media it contains (which is referred to as Home Sharing). Either of these can be controlled using the Remote app on your iPhone.
     
  15. majugolf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #15
    Thanks Empy. Anyone know if the Apple TV can also work as a wireless access point? Would be cool if I could hook the ethernet port to a switch for my HT components and leave the Time Capsule upstairs with the desktop.
     

Share This Page