tvOS App background refresh

Discussion in 'tvOS Programming' started by BeefCake 15, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. BeefCake 15 macrumors 65816

    BeefCake 15

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    near Boston, MA
    #1
    Does the new tvOS allow apps to refresh or update in the background? Also, does it allow for an alarms to pause active video and go off at certain times on the TV?
     
  2. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #2
    There's no background-app-refresh app setting screen, so if they do refresh it isn't something the user can control per-app like with iOS. tvOS doesn't have a Clock/Alarm/Timer app.
     
  3. BeefCake 15 thread starter macrumors 65816

    BeefCake 15

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    near Boston, MA
    #3
    Does it have the capability to let apps have the alarm functionality per Apple regulations etc?

    Thanks for the info!
     
  4. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #4
    Are you referring to tvOS API's...? Which one in particular?
     
  5. BeefCake 15 thread starter macrumors 65816

    BeefCake 15

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    near Boston, MA
    #5
    Sorry if I'm not good with the exact terminology as I'm not too familiar but basically would Apple API/rules etc. stop a developer from creating an App with alarm functionality, notifications and ability to pause videos. Such functionality is available in iOS but don't know about tvOS.
     
  6. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #6
    There are no options for 'Reminders' in the Settings screen. There is a 'Notifications' option, but only 1 app on my ATV4 shows up there, 'Waves' -- an internet radio app. Not sure why it's there, as the Waves app itself has no settings for notifications. I use Waves fairly often, and haven't ever received any sort of notification from it.
     

Share This Page