TV's Compatible with Macs?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by macguy40, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. macguy40 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    Im in the market for a new TV. Im looking to get a LCD HDTV or some sort but I want to be able to hook up my TV to my Imac. I have noticed that some TV's have a PC input on them so is there an adapter I can buy to connect my mac to my TV? Sorry if there is a thread on this already, I tried to search but came up empty handed. Thanks for the help everyone!
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    You should be able to plug your iMac directly into the HDMI or DVI port on the tv. You may need an adapter for the iMac but I don't think you should have any problems hooking it up to any newer TV.
     
  3. macguy40 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Is there a special cable I need to buy or would it come with the TV?
     
  4. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    You will probably need a DVI->HDMI adaptor (depending on whether or not the TV has DVI or only HDMI inputs) and a HDMI or DVI cable. And some way of transferring audio (phono cable).
    You can buy that in pretty much any electronics store.
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    PC inputs are typically VGA. Apple should sell an adapter for the iMac that gives you a VGA port. I'm not sure if the iMac has DVI or a miniDVI.

    A few TVs use DVI for the "PC Input", so in this case, you wouldn't need an adapter, unless the iMac use miniDVI.

    As for audio, make sure that the TV has an auxiliary input for audio. They typically do for the PC input, and I'm seeing that most have at least one HDMI port that can accept an auxiliary source for audio.
     
  6. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    Most new TVs have HDMI. I use a HDMI > DVI cable with a DVI > Mini DVI converter cable. Because DVI cant handle audio (as far as I know) you then need an audio cable. As I am not really an audio freak I am happy using a male to male stereo jack. One end goes in the headphones jack on the MacBook the other in into the TV.
     
  7. macguy40 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  8. dolphin842 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #8
    I would do some research on any potential TV you're looking at to see if the display has overscan problems when hooked up to a Mac. I hook up a MacBook to a Panasonic 50" plasma from time to time, and the top and bottom of the display is cut off.
     
  9. czeluff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #9
    model?

    Original poster:

    any idea what TV you're looking to buy? Let me tell you, I use a converter to connect my 24" iMac to my LN46A650. If you're interested in a solid 46" LCD that guaranteed to work with an iMac, this is it. And check out how highly it's rated on Amazon! :)

    http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-LN46A...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1230670319&sr=8-1

    A fabulous TV for $1400-$1500. The remote sucks, and the menu system is pretty ghetto. But i'm all about solid 1080p quality, stylish looks, at a terrific price.
     
  10. macguy40 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    That TV is something that Im looking to buy. I have heard good things about that TV. Do you have it hooked up to your computer through those cables that the other person listed above?
     
  11. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #11
    I have the 52" version of the same set (LN52A650). Images from the Mac look great in either 720 or 1080 resolution. The TV has a "just scan" mode which eliminates any overscan and shows you every pixel from the Mac. I have connected the set to my MacBook Pro with a DVI->HDMI cable and a mini-stereo->RCA cable.

    You could also use the Mac's optical audio output to get multi-channel sound to a surround-sound receiver if you have one. See this link for more info.
     
  12. macguy40 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    That TV is what Im going to get I think. But, I looked on Samsungs website to see if they had a model that didn't have that red on the top and bottom. I didn't' find that same TV without the red. Im curious if you guys know if they make that TV without the red? If not its not a big deal. Thanks for the help!
     
  13. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #13
    You would need to drop down to the 550 line to avoid the "Touch of Color" on the bezel. I was also concerned about the appearance of the red bezel but it's really not an issue. The color is very subtle. Unless sunlight is striking the bezel, it appears to be black.
     
  14. hhlee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #14
    i connect my macbook pro to my hdtv via vga. the quality is still quite good but i'd definitely go with a dvi->hdmi if possible.
     

Share This Page