iPhone tweak so that I can talk and browse the web

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheShadowXX, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. TheShadowXX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #1
    I have a Verizon iPhone 4 (CDMA)

    Is there a tweak that would allow me to talk to someone and browse the web at the same time?
     
  2. cclloyd macrumors 68000

    cclloyd

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri A
    #2
    No. That's a carrier-end thing, not a device-end.
     
  3. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #3
    Nope. That's the trade of with CDMA connections, it simply doesn't allow voice and data at the same time.
     
  4. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #4
    The tweak is called 'Getting service from AT&T or T-Mobile'. Works great, doesn't even really require a jailbreak - but a new iPhone in your case.
     
  5. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #5
    Connect to WiFi. This should allow you to talk and surf at the same time.
     
  6. TheShadowXX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #6
    never heard of them :p

    I'm in the middle of nowhere, I know when I'm at home I can connect to Wifi, i'm talking about when WiFi is not available.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    LMAO:D
    Yes, the tweak is called switch to AT&T:D
    Cant believe people think that there's a hack that would accomplish that on a cdma network. Its a hardware and carrier limitation obviously.
    While we're at it how about a tweak that will give me unlimited internet everywhere I go without even having a cellular data plan. I heard of that one here too.
     
  8. tperry macrumors member

    tperry

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    East Texas
    #8
    Not correct... it's the iPhone design that will not allow it. The new Android phones seem to perform those features (and on 3G also with SVDO) just fine. My S3 does and the RAZR MAXX HD does (as well as several other phones that they carry). It was a design decision (failure) on Apple's part.
     
  9. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #9

    I'll have that tweak too please !

    ;)
     
  10. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #10

    This is correct. The galaxy s3, and the htc evo 4g both have svdo.
     
  11. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #11
    Actually he is correct as well. It is also a limitation of CDMA networks.
     
  12. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #12
    Regardless, there's no tweak availible to give the iPhone that functionality.
     
  13. tperry macrumors member

    tperry

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    East Texas
    #13
    Correct... and the reason I specified that it is a design failure (hardware) from Apple that will not allow it. The statement that was quoted gave incorrect information that CDMA would not allow it - that was information that was being corrected. It's one of the things I don't like about my 5 that I have. Once you get used to the feature you do miss it. AT&T signal is a joke around where I live - so that's not an option.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    The CDMA devices that allow that are few and the reason Apple avoided it was cost, additional chipsets, space and battery sacrifice.
    Lets face it, CDMA is old dying tech.
     
  15. tperry, Mar 3, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013

    tperry macrumors member

    tperry

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    East Texas
    #15
    The reason that they avoided it was it would take an additional antenna installed - no more - no less. The Qualcomm chipset supports it. For most of the areas around here, you can't do it with AT&T anyway (you don't get HSPA+ - only Edge). For a "dying" technology it sure is still holding strong. In some aspects CDMA is better than GSM. Also, you ARE aware that 3G GSM IS actually a type of CDMA aren't you? Furthermore, there is NO reason in an LTE market that the phone should not be capable of doing dual voice/data as can the other Qualcomm chipset equipped phones that are on the market. As far as I know, ALL the recent LTE phones provided by Verizon WILL do voice/data at the same time on an LTE network (which is getting to be pretty widespread - heck, even in this tiny town we are about 70% covered by LTE and they already have the pads in build for new towers to make it 100%).
    The funny thing is - even on AT&T's towers, if you do the voice/data routine while on LTE you LOSE your LTE speeds for that period. With the Verizon CDMA/LTE combo you maintain those data speeds.

    You want to really know the ins/outs of the reason it won't support it a couple of good articles are located here and here.
     
  16. sumsingwong, Mar 3, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013

    sumsingwong macrumors 6502a

    sumsingwong

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #16
    Why don't you just use a VoIP app like Talkatone to make the phone call and then browse the web at the same time?
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    Can't believe you have missed the thousands of ads AT&T has run since the Apple iPhone first released --->

    "Talk and Surf the Web at the same time"
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Yes, pretty more it needs added hardware so that equals to more space taken up in the phone and higher cost. That was a choice that Apple made I guess. Maybe it wasnt worth it for 1-2 carriers only to change the design and add more hardware where throughtout the rest of the world the talk and surf works fine on the rest of the GSM networks.
    Im glad you love CDMA that much, Im sticking with GSM tech and GSM unlocked phones that I can take anywhere and just switch sims quick.
    And if Im away from LTE I dont get turtle cdma 3G speeds:)
     

Share This Page