Tweak to run a specified app when phone is plugged in?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rrandyy, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. rrandyy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #1
    I've been on the lookout for a good AirPlay enabled alarm clock, but have not found one. I mainly want to stream podcasts to the radio at night from my ipad. In the meantime, I use my iPhone as the AirPlay receiver, using airserver, docked in my current alarm radio. This works well, except I have to remember to start the airserver app every night.

    I found an app called "pluggedin" which actually does what I'm looking for. It starts the airserver app when I dock the phone. However, the phone has to be *unlocked* for it to work. But if I remember to unlock, then I can remember to start the airserver app too...

    Are there any other alternative tweaks or suggestions to get this working in a more automated fashion? The other option I've considered is buying an airport express and plugging it into the aux of my radio, but this seems like an unnecessary $100 that I could put toward an AirPlay radio in the future.
     
  2. eleven7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    If no-one knows of an app, you could email the pluggedin developer and ask if it's possible to add that functionality to their next update, if it's just a case of adding a few lines of code you might be in luck :)
     
  3. Baggy Spandex macrumors 6502

    Baggy Spandex

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #3
    iScheduler can launch apps at pre-set times. Not what you're asking for as far as launching when plugged in, but might help. I use it and love it. Wake up to SiriusXM every morning at 6AM.
     
  4. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
  5. rrandyy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestions everyone!

    Moka, can you provide a link that shows how this works in action menu? I haven't been able to find anything. It seems like action menu is more for copy/paste enhancement.
     
  6. rrandyy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #6
    After more research, i found that Activator has the same functionality, but also does not work when the phone is locked. It may be a system limitation. If anyone has other suggestions, I'm all ears :)
     
  7. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    sorry meant activator, must have mixed both up..
     

Share This Page