Twist on MBP vs iPad

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by shyam09, Mar 3, 2012.

1. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09

So i know there are countless threads on the wonderful advice on iPad vs. MBP.
    My situation is similar, but sort of different.

Some background things that might be important:
    • I'm a college student (Freshman)
    • Have a MBP 2010 Base 13"-- works beautifully with Lion

So here is the thing:
    Ever since I heard the rumor of the 15" MBA, i have been dying to get that. I wanted a big screen but it was just too pricey back then. If that turns out to be too pricey, I was thinking about upgrading my current 2010 Base 13" MBP to the latest and greatest [whenever that comes out]

Recently and quite randomly, I was thinking how nice it would be to get an iPad. I have always wanted one, but never had the "need" and thus I managed to get by without it [i forgot about the whole "wanting the iPad" thing for quite a while]
    Anyway, with the spotlight turning towards the iPad 3, I once again find myself wanting an iPad. My only excuse is textbooks [i know you can find some online for free, illegal yes, but free], and i have noticed a few of my textbooks currently used floating online. Of course it will be for games, apps, etc. but considering that I am determined on either one of these options, anyone have any advice?

Options:
    -- Sell current MBP, and buy a new 2012 / 15" MBA [whichever]
    --Buy an iPad 1, 2 , 3 [mostly leaning to 3, but i might go for the 2 b/c of the cheaper price.. still :confused:]

Anyway, any tips, suggestions, or something?

2. soulred12 macrumors member

The following is based on my experience.

If you're going to get an iPad for school, you're going to have to also invest in:
    -A case, that protects the iPad in your backpack/bag and allows it to stand up on its own (i.e., not the smart cover; check amazon) - $30-60
    -Pages app (from iWork) - $10 (or comparable word processing app)