twixtor & FCPX

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bluap84, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. bluap84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Does anyone know if or when they would release a new plugin for the new FCPX

    as on their site they state that its not supported just yet.
     
  2. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #2
    Someone correct me if i am wrong here.

    isn't twixtor very similar to apple's own frame blending function, Optical Flow?

    It used to be only available in motion but it is now built inside FCPX.

    i have always used optical flow and have found it to be fairly good.
    Find it user the time remapping settings (in the same area as effects, transitions etc.) under 'video quality' choose optical flow and see how that works out for you.
     
  3. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Oh SWEET dude...didnt know anything like that! i have scratched the surface of FCPX good to know dude thanks
     
  4. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #4
  5. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    We had Twixtor on Avid for years. Havent upgraded it since. After Effects does an amazing job as well.
     
  6. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    mBox you a like the holy grail!
    thanks man!

    any more good links or anything?
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    Dont thank me, thank the Internet :)
    Seriously, Im glad FCPX came out with the drama cause all it did was speed up the positive links and tutorials.
    All the bashers can sit back and gloat but honestly its a good tool and thats all it is! Its not freakin cancer.
    FYI Im Avid MC user at my work but also teach FCP at local college (soon to be FCPX). I have my reasons to hate and love all them tools but it doesnt help to be negative when you want to move forward in this medium.
     
  8. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    oh man...why would it be greyed out?
    is it because its still rendering in the background?

    and oh man...may have to hide my FW drive, shes one noisy motha
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #9
    Probably that I dont know. most of my footage I bring in and go out for a movie ;)
     
  10. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    figured it out :D

    for anyone else...slow the clip down, then run optical flow over it

    bit slow...but really cant wait for my 8gb upgrade! im starting to like FCPX more though
     
  11. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #11
    Good tip, keep em coming :)
     
  12. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    im sure you knew that though ;)

    what will speed up my rendering times?
    i have quad core i7 2.93 currently 4gb but upgrade to 12gb coming soon
    just bought a 1tb gtech FW drive (not SSD) which i use as my scratch and media drive.

    anything else?
     
  13. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #13
    Nope not yet. Havent touched Optical Flow to date in FCPX. Currently working on the workflow for my next curriculum. SInce its a side job, I do that from home. Ive done two projects on FCPX and mostly skate videos, tons over 100 GoProHD clips thus why I said "went to movie" during import :)
     
  14. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #14
    Optical flow is one of the hardest things you can ask FCPX to do. it will take an age to render

    my macs in the sig and it still takes enough time that i visibly age by the time it has finished!
     
  15. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #15
    I cant imagine using that on anything 4K. Most sfx I do goes into After Effects. Have to block that shot big time. If I get a chance Ill test OF with some 4K res files. Should be fun to watch :p
     
  16. bluap84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Blimely thats a beast!
    is it worth the wait? I have just tried to slow down something from a gopro @ 60fps to 3% it was shocking. But i guess for 3% you need 1000+ fps

    however for something 50-25% slower it was super clean. Its a great little feature, i love finding new little features.

    taking out optical flow how are you rendering times? would the need upgrades help speed mine up ?
     
  17. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #17
    Most of my personal edits were done on a MBP 2009 early Uni 17".
    I have a MP 12core with 32GB RAM and Quadro 4000 at work.
    When if I get a chance Ill test OF in that too :)
     

Share This Page