Two 2.4 quad to Two 2.4 Hexa

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RoastingPig, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. RoastingPig, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015

    RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  2. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #2
    I'm running 12 at 2.93... As much as I feel my pro is already pretty maxed out for my needs this upgrade intrigues me. What are you doing for PSU and cooling exactly? I read a weird post about Arctic silver 5. Everything else the same on your rig? Looks like it would be about 15% faster for me at most. Amazing how the prices of those chips came down in the past few years.
     
  3. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  4. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #4
    Nice upgrade.
    I went from a quad 2.8 to a hex 3.46 and felt the extra kick that gave,
    more cores aside, the faster clock is where alot of that extra kick delivers.
    I notice in your post your ram is 1033, remember you could boost that to 1333 speed ram now...whenever you feel the need.
     
  5. RoastingPig, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2014

    RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    Im running everything stock when it comes to cooling and the psu.

    ----------

    i have 4x8gb of 1333 ram coming in the mail. as well as a apple blade to pcie.

    Now all i need is a MVC 980 and my mac pro will be a BEAST!
     
  6. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #6
    Even sweeter!
    Out of interest which apple blade to pcie are you getting...Sintech one or?
     
  7. RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    I order the sintech one from ebay. It just left china post and i should be getting it by friday
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Yeah, now that 5690 prices are tumbling as lots of old servers are getting scrapped, it makes ALOT of sense to go 5690.

    My day to day testing machine is a 3,1 with 5482s. At night I usually move to the 4,1 running 5690s. Both have PCIE SSDs capable of around 1,000 MB/s but I always notice moving on to the 4,1. Everything just ka-BANGS into existence. Part is due to the 3,1 running the PCIE SSD at 1/2 speed but the 4,1 feels AMAZING. It is noticeably faster at everything. (I can post kitty videos to Facebook just as fast as nMP)

    We had some minor breakthroughs on 980 but then a setback. So frustrating to have GTX750Ti 95% done but not be able to get 970/980 done. If my friends in green up north want to send any hints, I'm all ears.
     
  9. ToroidalZeus, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2014

    ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #9
  10. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #10
    ^^^
    Why not go dual procs though? Would it even work
     
  11. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #11
    Nope. It's a hackintosh so single CPU only.

    i could go with a 8-core 5960X if i wanted tho; geek bench would be over 30k multicore like the OP with that CPU overclocked.
     

Share This Page