Two 680 or Quadra 5000?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by IceMacMac, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #1
    I mostly use my system for c4d (and other 3d apps) and After Effects. I also use VRAY which can really go to town with CUDA.

    Which would you go for?
    Two 680
    Or
    Quadro 5000k (imminent release)

    My initial thinking is to go for Quadro 5000k and then I can later add a Tesla card to give me a Maximus configuration.

    I'm not even sure if the Maximus config works on Mac...which would push me towards Bootcamp.
     
  2. Sophia. macrumors member

    Sophia.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I was in the same boat as you last week when thinking about my Mac Pro or future Mac Pro. However I've been told time and again the 5000k is not worth the price when you compare the two cards.

    If nothing more my comment will bump your thread and hopefully someone else more qualified will offer their advice.
     
  3. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #3
    Generally I agree, in terms of raw specs. But the Quadro line is optimized for pro 3d work...it drives 4 monitors...and it works in tandem with a Tesla. I'm willing to pay the premium IF there is any legitimate case to be made at a performance level.

    I'm looking forward to objective tests that are coming soon at Barefeats.com.
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    I'd spring for 2 Titans but that's just me :cool:

    Going by Cuda cores alone with some 5300+ it would still be cheaper than the 5000. I don't know how optimized the quadros would be over any gaming GPU.
     
  5. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #5
    The Quadros are optimized for pro 3d apps. 680s and Titans are optimized for games. You'll get more stable performance with a Quadro in pro work.

    Now is the difference enough to make up for the raw specs and pricing of the other cards. Good question.
     
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    PC variant of the Quadro K5000, or would you be going with the Quadro K5000 for Mac? I know @MacVidCards was testing the PC variant and it wasn't running at 100% speed yet... but that was before 10.8.3 was released, so maybe its performance is better now?

    Can't find any retailers who are STOCKING the Quadro K5000 for Mac, last looked around yesterday. Lots list prices, but all were sold out or unavailable. Not sure if that would have an impact on your buying decision...

    If budget were not an issue, would go with Quadro K5000 for the work you're describing...
     

Share This Page