Two Computers, One Username?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mac In School, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. Mac In School macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #1
    I'm currently running a mac pro.

    I just ordered a MacBook Pro, to use around the house and on the road. They're going to be on the same network, but will rarely be used at the same time. Although the MP will be running while I'm using the MBP.

    What's the best way to do my network settings? Different computer name, same username/password? Or should I vary the username/password? Or does it matter? Any benefits or drawbacks to either method?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I stick with the same username on all my UNIX machines since it makes ssh sessions painless. The passwords are different though. ;)

    Pick a different hostname for each machine.
     
  3. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #3
    I have the same user name on several Macs which makes it easy to copy files, preferences, etc. Each Mac's hard drive has a unique name, though.
     
  4. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #4
    Interesting. What is the benefit of that? Just easy identification? Did you do that just by single-clicking on the drive on your desktop twice, and choosing a new name?
     
  5. PeggyD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Covington, WA, USA
    #5
    Yes, that or in Disk Utility when I formatted/partitioned them.
     
  6. ruckus macrumors regular

    ruckus

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #6
    I also recommend using the same username. I believe if the credentials (username/password) match you do not have to re-authenticate yourself if you share between them, but I could be wrong.
     
  7. Mac In School thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #7
    I'm not familiar with selecting hostnames. Is that the same thing as the "short name" you pick when you first boot up?
     

Share This Page