Two dictionaries at once?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 5683565, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. 5683565 Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    Hi all,

    I frequently write documents in multiple languages, and I am wondering if there is a way to use two dictionaries at the same time, so that I don't get red lines under half of my work.

    Perhaps I could combine two dictionaries into one so that it thinks it's the same language. No idea how to do this though.

    It seems simple, but it drives me crazy.

    Any help appreciated.

    James
     
  2. n-abounds macrumors 6502a

    n-abounds

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
  3. 5683565 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  4. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #4
    Apple's Operating System supports multilingual spell-checking, thus all cocoa-applications. like Pages, etc., also. Just go to the Menubar > Edit > Spelling > Spelling > Dictionary > select 'multilingual.' Works pretty well.
     
  5. 5683565 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Ah had a look and found the 'all' option. Excellent.
     
  6. rspeaker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    #6
    When I do this in Pages, I don't have a "Dictionary" option... ideas?
     
  7. 5683565 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    In Pages, open up the Inspector, click on the 'T' tab, then on 'more'.

    There you will have a drop down menu with 'English' set. Open that up, and at the top you have 'all'.
     
  8. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #8
    Weird, so you guys have it called 'all' and mine is called 'multilingual?' I wonder if I have a different version of OSX?
     
  9. 5683565 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Well my OS is in German and it simply said 'alle'. Maybe the German translator got lazy :cool:
     
  10. CaptainHaddock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #10
    Good thread. :)

    I wish you could turn on multiple dictionaries or all dictionaries system-wide though, instead of just in Pages.
     
  11. 5683565 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Good for those 'elite' that write in multiple languages :D

    Oh how I wish I knew I could have used the 'all' feature last september when I was writing a 30 page assignment in French, German and English...

    The time wasted... :(
     

Share This Page