Two Exchange accounts... why not???

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rioja, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone know why we can't have more than one Exchange account on the iPhone? There can be numerous IMAP, POP, Yahoo, etc accounts... what makes Exchange so special?

    I was talking to a friend who is a longtime Windows smartphone (forget the make/model) user with Exchange. He said he can't add more than one Exchange account either.

    Seems odd to me...
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Because if you know how Exchange works is it requires constant communications between the server and client and trust me your phone will get too busy handling more than 1 server at a time.
     
  3. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #3
    You obviously don't know how Exchange Direct Push works. The connection between the phone and the server is dormant except for heartbeats (which occur infrequently, usually every 15-30 minutes, sometimes shorter) and when data actually needs to be updated. If there were constant communication, battery life would be even worse than it is now.
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Actually I do. I was just giving a layman explanation. A lot people would be lost if I mentioned the whole shazam.
     
  5. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #5
    No, you gave a completely incorrect explaination. There is a difference.

    The bottom line is that the communication between the phone and the server is not the reason that more than one Exchange account is not supported.
     
  6. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Because Activesync currently doesn't support it. Simple as that.


    But it's coming..............;)
     
  7. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #7
    Oh really? :cool:
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    w/e :rolleyes:
     
  9. mikesown macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    #9
    The main reason why this isn't supported, actually, is because Microsoft's C++ base doesn't have support for more than one account. Apple basically took the C++ ActiveSync library and stuck it in the iPhone(and made apps like Mail, Contacts and Calendar query this library for exchange information). Microsoft didn't simply hand Apple a spec sheet saying "This is how the exchange protocol works" -- they actually gave Apple source code to perform ActiveSync. And, to my knowledge, Apple didn't opt to heavily modify this source code to support multiple accounts. If you don't like it, complain to Microsoft- they're the guilty party.
     
  10. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #10
    There are a lot of Exchange-related things I'd love to complain to Microsoft about. Like how come my iPhone can get HTML e-mail from Exchange 2003, but my Windows Mobile 6.0 phone could only get it from Exchange 2007?
     
  11. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #11
    As others have said, it's a limitation of ActiveSync. IIRC, you can't add multiple Exchange accounts in Outlook either (although you can in Entourage) so I guess it's just not something Microsoft have really considered
     
  12. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Wha?! Your iPhone can get HTML e-mail from Exchange 2003? Are you absolutely sure of that? Are you using ActiveSync or IMAP? If you are able to get HTML from Exchange 2003 w/ ActiveSync, I have a lot of questions for some engineers at work today.....
     
  13. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    That's because Entourage is WebDAV based, not MAPI based.
     
  14. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #14
    Why do you need two Exchange accounts in the first place? Do you have two jobs?
     
  15. zombieflanders macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    #15
    Government contractors (at least in the US) often have two accounts, one for their company and one for the Deparment/OPDIV their contract is with. Usually these are both Exchange accounts.
     
  16. jeeb75 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #16
    I get html mail also, our company uses Exchange 2003 SP2.
     
  17. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #17
    Hmmmm...I can't test it as we're running 2007...of course. I was debating setting up and Exchange server @ home.....perhaps I'll just go quiz the engineers at work.

    Are you both using ActiveSync? You never said.
     
  18. markgamber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Redneck, PA
    #18
    It would be nice. As far as I know, the ONLY email client that can deal with two (or more) exchange servers is Entourage. Outlook goes out of it's way to make sure you can only connect with one. Even if you manage to hack a second account, the app looks for certain window classes and prevents them from being created if one already exists. Really cheesy. I'd guess phones aren't that fascist about it and simply prevent you from setting up one if one already exists.

    Oh...and as usual...just because SOME people never needed more than one doesn't mean EVERYONE doesn't mean more than one. Some of us do for whatever reason we deem fit.
     
  19. aforty macrumors 65816

    aforty

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    I get HTML via Exchange 2003 as well. ActiveSync enabled.
     
  20. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #20
    I am absolutely sure I get HTML e-mail on the iPhone, and I am using ActiveSync. I was completely blown away when I first saw it.
    Some of us use Exchange for our personal e-mail, too.
     
  21. jeeb75 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #21
    Yes, I am using ActiveSync
     
  22. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #22

    You have an Exchange server at your house hosting your own personal email? I guess that's too much for me. I leave work at work. I don't need to have servers at home to support too.
     
  23. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    I'm debating doing just that...however a lot of ppl just pay for one of the Exchange hosting services...less hassle.
     
  24. Jeremy W macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #24
    Yep.
     
  25. rioja thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #25
    This sucks. I have an iPhone (I bought) and a BB (company bought). I could go with just my iPhone but I use a personal Exchange account for my personal email, then the company Exchange for work stuff.

    Looks like I won't be free from carrying 2 devices anytime soon :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page