Two HD RAID enclosure w/option of using only 1 drive ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dnadrifter, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. dnadrifter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    Does any one know of a two hard drive enclosure that will house two drives capable of setting the drives up in a RAID 0, BUT also let you only put one drive in one of the slots if you want (non RAID).

    I am looking for an external backup solution. Ideally I would just by a two drive RAID enclosure from macsales and then buy two 1TB drives. However, I don't really need 2TB of backup right now, but I likely will in a couple years. I would like to find an enclosure that would support both a single drive and a two drive RAID 0 setup, so I can grow into it without laying out the cash now.
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    From a sample drive description:
    I guess this means you can put in one, and another one for later.
     
  3. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
  4. dnadrifter thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #4
    That was actually the enclosure I was planning on purchasing. When I called OWC though they said you had to have two in at the same time. You didn't have to have them configured as a RAID, but you both slots needed to be occupied.

    I was also optimistic that the description said up to 2, but I guess it could be read as up to two 2TB drives rather than say two 1 TB drives, etc.

    I asked the tech support guy several times and he was fairly adamant that both drives needed to be there.
     
  5. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    Drobo does this. Can hold up to four drives. Just pop in drives to add storage without formatting.
     
  6. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #6
    Drobo is slow though..
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    You might want to look into ATA over Ethernet (AoE). ;)
     

Share This Page