Two new AT&T iPhones and switching SIM cards

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by netnothing, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #1
    Parents yesterday ordered (via the phone) a brand new Family plan on ATT (they are coming from Verizon and a Go Phone)......two of the iPhone 4 - 8GB versions.

    Mom's number is being ported from Verizon.
    Dad getting a new number.

    We ordered two black phones.

    However, today, the order actually shows one black and one white.
    The black one tied to my Mom's number.
    The white one tied to my Dads.

    Mom called and asked and they said the iPhone 4 - 8GB are actually shipping out now....so no changes can be made.

    My question is.....my Mom is ok with White......can we just, swap the SIM cards BEFORE we turn the phones on and activate?

    -Kevin
     
  2. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  3. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Cool....I'm assuming it's best to swap them BEFORE doing anything....so the activation is done on the correct phones?

    -Kevin
     
  4. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #4
    Doesn't matter, swap them before you activate or after.
     
  5. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    I don't think it matters but I would do it before.
     
  6. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    Thanks for the info.

    I'm guessing the SIM card is what holds the info on what phone number the phone uses?

    So for my own example....my wife and I both have the original iPhone 4. If we were to swap SIM cards.....would I basically have her phone (all her apps, music etc) but the phone would answer for my number?

    Just curious.

    -Kevin
     
  7. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Correct. That's how all GSM phones work.
     
  8. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Awesome....good to know. Thanks!

    -Kevin
     
  9. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #9
    Loving the different answers you get from AT&T.

    So an AT&T rep told me you need to activate FIRST....because the SIM cards are tied to the phone before activating. Then afterwards you can switch.

    If this is the case.....I'm assuming (can't remember what I did for my iPhone 4), when you activate, don't you enter your Apple ID etc for the phone? If that's the case....I'm guessing it would be best to have my Mom activate and setup the one assigned to my Dad's number and vice versa. Then once activate, they switch SIM cards to switch phone numbers?

    -Kevin
     
  10. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    See the upgrade guide above the forum. There are details in there about upgrade swaps.

    IIRC, it might be wise to call AT&T before just swapping sims and activating. But my brain is rusty.
     
  11. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #11
    Thanks....called AT&T again and got a completely different answer. Loving this.

    Sometimes I wonder if anyone there has a clue.

    This last guy was telling my I can't swap the SIMs because the 3GS SIM is larger. I politely told him I knew that.....and wasn't sure why he was saying that because the order is for two iPhone 4 models :eek:

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page