Two old G5 Duals, Two new problems!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by TJHappy, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. TJHappy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #1
    Hi G5ers. I'm a nubie to this site. I have two G5 Dual 1.8 towers. They are a mastery of design!
    However, I do have some issues with both.

    I bought them both on eBay about 5 years ago at around $450 each - shipped.
    I got them to upgrade myself from my G4 466DA, AND to get my elderly mother off of the confusing Windows running PCs my brothers kept setting her up with ( and then not supporting!). She went through three PCs in 7 years!
    I wanted our computers to be set up identical so I could help her over the phone if she had problems (I was tired of having to do that for the PCs).

    After I got the G5s I never actually had to help her agian for several years!.....until lately.

    They both came from different sellers and were loaded with software and RAM (4.5 GB on mine and 2.5 on her's - i think)

    I moved about a year ago, and when I went to boot up at the new place my G5 would not boot. It gave me the chimes but past that would only spin in gray screen as the HD clicked away. I put it aside and used the G4.
    The G5 has two HDs ,a 160 GB with OS 10.5.2 as boot, the other a 250GB.

    Recently, I put a new 1 Tera HD in it along siide the 160GB HD and booted from CD with new OS 10.5.8 retail disc. I can now read, write to and copy from the 160GB HD! So, what was happening to the 160GB HD?

    On mom's G5, it suddenly quit booting. The system will not boot even from the CD. I get good chimes and some response for about 1 minute then it freezes. Any clues?

    thanks ~Terry
     
  2. robertdsc macrumors regular

    robertdsc

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    #2
    The clicking indicates that the drive was having trouble reading data. Sometimes that happens and the drive can become unusable and/or fail in short order.

    If you install the Leopard OS onto the terabyte drive, you can then repair/reformat the 160GB drive just in case.

    I'd rather replace it, myself. But your mileage may vary.
     
  3. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3
    This is most problably problem with drive heads.
    If you have any important data on drives which behave like this, DO NOT power them on and take them to HDD specialist to check or replace drive heads. Data from those drives can be rescued, unless drive heads damaged platters where data actually is.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Try a PMU reset on both.

    The instructions are here.
     
  5. TJHappy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #5
    Thanks.

    I forget. How do I reset the PMU on a G5 tower?

    On Mom's, The system does not start up half the time.

    I have heard alot of talk about cleaning them out. They are both quite dusty inside. Might that help?

    Thanks
     
  6. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #6
    Cleaning it out is NEVER a bad idea. The things are like slow vacuum cleaners moving air and collecting dust. best way to get the whole thing including the PSU cleaned out is with an air compressor instead of the little cans of air. If hers is overheating, that could cause those lockups.
     
  7. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #7
    Just click on the "here" in my previous post. It is a hyperlink to the Apple Support article.
     

Share This Page