Two (potentially stupid) Questions -- Running / Quitting Finder and iDefrag.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Collider, Oct 14, 2009.

1. Collider macrumors regular

I'm hoping these issues aren't as stupid and/or obvious as they seem (and I also hope I'm not posting in the wrong place; it seems OS related to me, but I'm still very very very new at this stuff (both the MR forums in specific, and Mac computers in general), so I could be wrong -- irregardless, feel free to delete or move this thread, and many apologies if I got it wrong).

1) One of the first things I did when I got my new MBP was to input the command that granted a 'quit' option for Finder, and since then, I've been keeping Finder quit / closed pretty much all the time. This is in part to free up what little RAM it uses (I know it's next to nothing, but it seems pointless to use even that to keep permanently open an application that's used less than 2% of the time) but mostly because I simply cannot stand keeping applications running if I'm not actively using them.

Having tried to look this up, I've come across a wide variety of different thoughts on the subject, so I was hoping for something a little more clear-cut. I've read advice stating that Finder is just another app and that quitting it does no harm... and I've also read advice that insists it's part of the fundamental workings of the OS.... so what I'm hoping for is some kind of definitive answer as to whether it's likely to damage Snow Leopard at all if I continue to keep Finder quit / closed, or whether it really is necessary to keep it running the whole time?