Two questions: 1 )"In-App SMS" and 2) How to make an App?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Amacfa, Apr 24, 2010.

1. Amacfa macrumors 65816

Amacfa

Hey all, two questions!

1) Are there any developers taking advantage of this new "In-App SMS" that was announced for 4.0. If so who/where so I can see progress?

2) I am really interested in making apps. I know that it may require a lot of dedication to do so, but if someone could point me in the direction of a good guide, maybe some source codes of iphone apps to help me learn, that'd be amazing. I run windows so windows-only coding applications. My goal is to make nice shiny apps. I am a beginner at coding.

2. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

You have to have a mac to run xcode (the program used to create iPhone apps).

3. Amacfa thread starter macrumors 65816

Amacfa

Dang, isn't there a way to run a virtual machine though?

Also what exactly is an API and how long does it take to design an app around it.

4. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

Revelation78

Based on those questions you have a VERY long way to go! There are ways to run OSX in a virtual machine, however I wouldn't recommend it. The performance is downright poor; it's also a violation of the EULA.

Think of API's as code that is already put together for you to use specific features, whether they be hardware or software. For instance your earlier post about in-app messaging, that is an API that you call with a few lines of code - without having to manually code, the sometimes, thousands of lines of code yourself.

5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

If you're asking questions like that then you have a very long way to go.....

6. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

Taken from Wikipedia. I would also advise not trying to emulate OS X is Windows, it will cause all sorts of issues.

7. Amacfa thread starter macrumors 65816

Amacfa

Very informative, thank you.