Two questions...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Afbar1114, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Afbar1114, Aug 7, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2012

    Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #1
    1. If i have back to my mac set up on TC and MBP. Can I print from another WI-FI location?

    2. The HDD that came out of my MBP can I use it as an external HDD?

    I thought it would be easier to make on thread insted of two....
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    1. If you mean "USB port" with WI-FI port, than yes, unless another device is already connected to that one USB port, then you need a USB hub (non-powered is okay in this case).

    2. Yes, if you get a 2.5" S-ATA enclosure (USB costs from 10 € upwards, Firewire 800 can cost 50 €).
     
  3. Afbar1114 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #3
    ok thanks i ment to say another wifi location and all. i got a USB 2.0 for $30 where can i get firewire? is it faster then USB 2.0 and where can i get a Fire wire HDD
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    I still don't know what you mean by that. Do you have a printer with wireless capabilities? If so, you can add to your network without problems, the TC can have up to 20 wireless clients connected to it, as far as I can remember.
    I don't know, where you reside (country), thus I can not give you any specifics. If you are bound to the the North American continent, try OWC/MacSales or Newegg, they sell Firewire 800 enclosures.

    And Firewire 800 is faster than USB 2.0 (60 to 70 MB/s via Firewire 800 vs. 30 to 35 MB/s via USB 2.0), but depending on your data usage*, USB 2.0 might more than suffice.

    * Do you copy loads of data (10 to 100s of GB) on a regular basis?
     
  5. Afbar1114 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #5
    no i dont just to take back and forth between school and home to store items just incase the HDD hooked up to my TC cant get accessed. i mean that the printer hooked up to my wifi can i print outside of the wifi network if its Back to my mac is enabled?
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    No that won't work. You need to be on the same network (router) or print directly to the wi-fi printer. Back to My Mac won't allow you to print to your printer from other networks.
     
  7. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #7
    LogMeIn Hamachi allows me to do remote printing. Just put your computer and a computer with access to the printer in the same virtual network, share the printer over the network, and print! ;)
     

Share This Page