two sets of logitech z-2300 speakers

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by elinolium, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. elinolium macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    I currently have one set of z-2300 speakers that work fine except for the defunct wired remote; I'm going to send that remote in and logitech, for some reason, has decided to send me an entire new set of z-2300s instead of just a replacement control pod. I'm wondering if theres some way to wire both these speaker sets together so that I can make use of my old set, or at least the satellite speakers (not that interested in having two subwoofers in my room)-so any advice on how to do this (what cables would I need, etc) would be great.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

    Demosthenes X

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
    Judging from the pictures of the set, all you need is two of these:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #3
    Really, I would think it would be a standard 1/8th inch splitter, not a normal A/V cable...
     
  4. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

    Demosthenes X

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    Not if he only wants to use one sub. Using a headphone splitter would require both subs be plugged in, since the speakers plug into the sub using component cables. The adapter above will allow the OP to plug all four speakers into one sub. :)
     
  5. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #5
    You are correct...stupid me...again... But theoretically the sub would only be able to power the satellites at half volume via that method, why not go for two subs, unless there is a space problem...
     
  6. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #6
    So the same thing happened to me. Could anyone enlighten me to how this works. I mean how each cord plugs into each other. Sorry I am just kind of confuzzled.
     
  7. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #7
    The plug that Demosthenes X recommended should be plugged into the subwoofer, then you should connect the satellites to each in. So the two rights should be plugged into the y-adapter on the right and the left to the left. You are creating what is a 4.1 system, but remember that your speakers should only go up to half of their volume as they originally did, as the subwoofer is still only outputting the stock watts.
     
  8. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #8
    Oh okay I got it. Now what if I wanted to do a 4.2 system?

    thanks
     
  9. Blarg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Same thing happened to me. I want a 4.2 system though. does anyone know how to do that and explain what connectors go where specifically.
     
  10. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #10
    So what kind of splitter do I need for a 4.2 system? I know it was mentioned above but could somebody repeat it for me, thanks.
     
  11. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #11
    Go to Radio Shack and buy a basic headphone splitter.
     
  12. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #12
    Oh! I gotcha now. Just hook up both green ends to the splitter and then I am good to go. haha I was overthinking.
     
  13. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #13
    Using the Cable Shown Above you will create a 4.1 system. That you connect into the back of your sub. If you want 4.2 you need to spilt the audio coming out of your computer and then plug each 2.1 system into the headphone splitter.
     
  14. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #14
    Wait I just realized something bad... So the control pod is the thing that has the audio cord coming out of it. And I had to send my broken pod in to get a whole new speaker set. Meaning I only have one pod. So I won't be able to use the splitter. The 2 speakers plug into the back of the sub but then the control pod plugs into the back of the sub that pretty much controls everything. And without that pod the system doesn't work.
     
  15. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #15
    What you could do is split the L/R RCA inputs in the back of one of the subs, and hook 2 rights + 2 lefts. Only thing is your gonna have one inactive sub (maybe use as a footrest?).
     
  16. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #16
    Yeah that was mentioned previously. I mean if I have a working sub laying around I might as well find some use for it. I am just not sure how this could work out. If I have too I will just do a 4.1 but do I have to worry about blowing my speakers out?
     
  17. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #17
    Exact opposite, each speaker will only get half the power that it would if you did 2.1. The sub only puts out x, each speaker gets x/2, lets call that y. With the 4.1 the sub is still putting out x, each speaker is now getting x/4 so y/2.
     
  18. Blarg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    So I'm still not sure of how to get a 4.2 system going.
     
  19. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #19
    Plug a headphone splitter into your audio out port, then in one side plug in one of your 2.1 systems and the other in the other.
     
  20. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #20
    Like I was saying, that won't work because there is only 1 green cable for the 2 systems. The audio out (green headed cord) is on the control pod. We had to send the broken control pod in to get a replacement. Meaning there is only 1 headphone jack (green headed cord) for the 4 speakers/2 subs.
     
  21. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #21
    I'm lost are you and Blarg the same person?

    For you, as it's been explained now three or four times, you are going to have to use 4.1 by the as for mentioned way, 4.2 is only available if you have two working systems.
     
  22. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
  23. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #23
    I didn't mean to be so rude, but I'm lost as to what you are getting at. For you iThink you are stuck with 4.1...
     
  24. windows7fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #24
    Its okay, you've been very helpful. I am pretty sure Blarg has the same problem as me. So iThink he is stuck with 4.1 as well :(

    For the sake of posting, here is how everything looks. But once again thanks. So the cable iNeed is just a normal RCA splitter?
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Blarg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    haha, no were not the same person. The same thing happened to both of us and has happened to a few others as well. Could anyone tell me the name of the connector of the control pod to the sub?
     

Share This Page