Two Time Capsules, One Network?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Squelch, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. Squelch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    TLH, FL
    #1
    Howdy,

    I'm getting ready to split my household for a year, (wife's going to school 1,000 miles away) and I want to give her a good backup solution for her MacBook. Right now I've got a 500GB Time Capsule running our network with her MacBook, my MacBook Air, and an old 12" Powerbook sharing the TC drive.

    I can cobble together an AEBS and a 500GB USB drive to make a homegrown Time Capsule for $291.97 shipped. Or I can buy another 500GB TC for $299, knowing it will work as planned. (We had some initial problems, but sorted them out and now the TC is awesome.)

    My question is, in a year when we're living together again, am I going to have a use for two Time Capsules? Can one be set up as a bridge and just share the drive, as sort of a NAS? If not, then I might as well just get the AEBS and USB drive, then I'll have those two components later.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    I think it should be possible.

    Read this:
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Designing_AirPort_Networks_10.5-Windows.pdf

    Check out page 40 on roaming.

    -Kevin
     
  3. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Won't you be in the same position with an AEBS in a year of having a "useless" AEBS? In a year, set up the second TC as a bridge and don't use the drive for Time Machine, but just as NAS, which it can do anyway.
     
  4. TheDane macrumors member

    TheDane

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #4
    Hi,

    did you succeed in having one TC as router and another as extender?
     
  5. mbestel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #5
    Other option?

    Maybe you could run this on the powerbook with an external drive backups?

    http://www.netrev.com.au/

    You could probably run the rest of the network stuff on the powerbook to, unless you actually use it for something else.

    Might work as a temporary measure.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers,

    Mark
     

Share This Page