two versions of text edit on same system!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zoran, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Why when i try to open (open with...) an html file, there are two versions of TextEdit available? There is a 1.6 and 1.5 version!
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Make sure you don't have a Previous Systems folder from a migrated OS X system or OS X upgrade.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    i never migrated to Snow, the computer was new
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Yea but if the Mac use bought just after the release of Lion the store might hace "upgraded" the Mac.

    You never answered if you have Previous Systems folder or not.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    1. its a 2.93 corei7
    2. so you think they might upgraded my iMac from Leopard to Snow, im using Snow Now?
    3. where shall i check for the previous system folder?
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    2. Yes the store might have "upgraded" it.

    3. It should be in the mail folder when you click on the mounted (on the desktop) hard drive.

    One thing. To reset the contextual menu items in OS x just open /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and put the code:

    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user
    Then click the 'return' button. Close Terminal when you get another Terminal propt. This will mean the reset has finished.
     
  7. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #7
    Was there an imac27" corei7 August 2008? cause in the previous system i get dates since then!


    why would i wanna do that?
     
  8. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
    The use Spotlight to find the two Textedit applications. One might be in a cloned backup, so check please Hence the contactual reset I wrote about will fix that setting.
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    I used spotlight and the other version of text edit is located in the previous system folder. So u say i should delete all the data in that folder?

    Regarding the contactual reset, what exactly will it do i haven't understood... sorry :eek:
     
  10. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #10
    You can delete the entire Previous System Folder. It would have to be old, because neither Snow Leopard nor Lion creates those folders, since they do not have the Archive and Install option. That folder contains a previous Leopard OS install, most likely, and you will not have need of anything in it.

    jW
     
  11. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    Ok, supposing that in the beginning the iMac had Leopard installed and when i bought it they installed Snow, can an OSX upgrade be a disadvantage to the speed of the new system (Snow Leopard in this case) or can it creat any other kind of issues?.
    I mean is it better to make a good clean install of SnowLeopard?
    I ask this cause as i have stated in the past i seem to be having some strange issues...
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1091937
     

Share This Page