Two windows of Safari - how do I jump/toggle between the two?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GilesM, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. GilesM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Hello all,

    If I have two windows of Safari open at the same time, how do I toggle between the two?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    Command+`
     
  3. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  4. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #4
    actually, not so great, it does not work for me.
    I have two safari windows and I press cmd+' but nothing happens.

    Strange. I am using the button with CMD on it, next to the space bar, and the button with " and ' on it, which is two spaces along, to the right from the letter L.

    i am using the correct Keys?

    My safari version is 3.2.1.
    OS version is 10.5.6

    Any ideas?
     
  5. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #5
    I think you're using the wrong keys - in your post you're using an apostrophe. In Chundles' post they're using ` (the key that should be next to the number 1 on the top of the keyboard).

    I can understand the confusion as ' and ` do look alike - I had to look at the post really carefully to finally notice the difference :p

    Hope it works now :)
     
  6. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6
    Ah, so as I have a UK keyboard, the ` symbol is next to the z key.
    When using this with CMD it does indeed switch between the windows of Safari.
    There is a bit of a snag though. With two windows of Safari, on the first CMD` I get the "about Safari" window, then if I repeat the press CMD ` then it will cycle round to the next window.
    Not a big deal, but it means doing it twice, but that's OK.

    Thanks for your collective help!
    :D
     
  7. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #7
    Sorted it, the 'about Safari' window was still open from when I checked my version earlier.
    It's all perfect now !

    Thanks to all.
     
  8. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Note that CMD + ` works for lots of OSX apps. :D
     
  9. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #9
    works within the Finder window too! great. anyway, why don't use tabs?
     
  10. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #10
    Well, I am not yet using TABS because I can spend a while setting up TABS in a particular session, but when I close Safari, all the tabs are lost.
    I would like to close safari, and then when I open it again, see my tabs all appear and re-load again.
    This was something I used to do in IE 7 in the bad old days of using a PC, but as yet I find no way to do it in Safari.
     
  11. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #11
    And when you open pages in multiple windows the same windows will reopen the next time you launch Safari? :confused:

    Firefox will save tabs. I've never seen the point, though. I just use bookmarks for my most frequently-used sites and remember the rest. You can use command+number to select a button on the bookmarks bar. Mac Basics and Help is command+3. ;)
     
  12. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #12
    In the Safari Menu bar: History-->Reopen All Windows From Last Session.

     
  13. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #13
    Hello,

    Yes, that works, thanks !
    Can this be set to happen automatically every time I open Safari?
     
  14. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    I'm not sure... I don't believe so. But you could bind it to a hotkey. That way you'd have quick access as well as the choice to reopen old tabs or start fresh.
     
  15. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #15
    interesting idea about the hotkey. I might yet give that a try.
    I am happy with what I have learned today.

    It's amazing how there is always something new to pick up.

    regards and thanks.;)
     
  16. PASCALE33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #16
    how on macbook pro keyboard

    hi, aeeh sorry, am a mac newbie.. ;-) . if i do as described above, i need to press 3 keys (cmd, shift and 1 (which carries the +)). have no single "+" sign on the macbook pro keyboard.

    -> any other trick that i can do with 2 fingers?

    appreciate!
    pascale
     
  17. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #17
    You press only 2 keys, the + means at the same time.

    These keys:
    CMD
    `
     
  18. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18
    I guess you have European keyboard layout like me.

    1) Go to system preferences -> keyboard & mouse -> keyboard shortcuts

    2) Find "Move focus to next window in active application"

    3) double click on the right side where the shortcut is

    4) hold down cmd and the key above tab and below esc (my recommendation). I have the § sign there.

    Done
     
  19. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #19
    with multiclutch, aasuming you have a multitouch trackpad, you can set "three fingers swipe down" to go to the next tab. it's very great! try it.

    i set swipe up for a new tab, and swipe down for move to the next tab.
     

Share This Page