Ty the tasmanian Tiger

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kamil97, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. kamil97, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    kamil97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    in a house
    #1
    I recently decided to relive my magical childhood by playing the great games i used to have. I started by downloading Pcsx 2 mac and set everything up. The first game i downloaded was Midway Arcade Treasures 2 and it ran flawlessly. So then i decided to try Ty the tasmanian tiger 2 Bush rescue and was horrified to see it didn't even get to the title menu. Ty 3 got to the menu, but then froze immediately after pressing start. I downloaded dolphin and tried to play the gamecube version but that posed new problems. The words on both ty 2 and 3 weren't legible and the game ran at 1 fps. I want to play the game on my mac so i can take it wherever i go so buying the game won't help. :( I really want to play ty 2.
    If it helps, I am using the 2.3ghz core i5 Macbook pro 13".Please post whatever information you can on this thread, any and all suggestions will be appreciated and Thank you.
     
  2. kamil97 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    in a house
    #2
    Solved it! i installed windows 8 under bootcamp and installed the pc version which ran the game flawlessly.
    thank you all for your help (note the sarcasm)
     
  3. chrisvee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #3
    No problem - come back soon! :)

    Haha, but really, I remember Ty! Fun stuff! Hm, did you say you installed Windows 8 via BootCamp? How's that? I was going to try doing that, but since it's still only a dev preview, I stopped myself.
     
  4. dsiee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Rual NSW, Aus
    #4
    just have to say, i love that games! nothin beats a boomerang that explodes!!!
     
  5. kamil97 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    in a house
    #5
    The developer preview has gotten really stable at this point. it's like getting a full version of windows for free!
    The only problem i ran into is installing the boot camp drivers in windows but i solved it by running them in compatibility mode set for windows 7. Other than that, its the same as installing windows 7. If you run into any problems just return to this thread and i'll tell you the solution
     
  6. Duouk2000 macrumors newbie

    Duouk2000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Yeah I can attest to that. I've been using the Windows 8 dev preview for about 4 months now, the only issue I've had is with games that use GFWL, apart from that it's been perfect.
     

Share This Page