U2515H - Television: Yes ?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bootz, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. bootz, Feb 2, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2015

    bootz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I finally received my U2515H from Dell. So far I'm loving it. I have a mid-2012 rMBP, so I figured this was the best I was going to be able to do as far as PPI goes. The monitor replaces an oldie but goodie - the BENQ G2400WD (16:10 24 -inch 1920x1200 resolution).

    I have the display connected using the included Dell mDP to DP cable. I love the fact that I can run Parallels in a 1280x1440 window and still have half of the display available for whatever I need. I'll share some more opinions and pictures when I have some time to play around with it.

    Now, I did notice two things when looking at the Graphics/Display section under System Information.

    The refresh rate shows 59 Hz instead of 60. Also, OS X is detecting it as a Television, even though I'm connecting via mDP out to DP in on the monitor. I can't tell if it is impacting the quality of the display - maybe it is, maybe it isn't. I'll do some more testing and see. Just wondering if anyone else has seen these two display abnormalities?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ra004e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #2
    Same config, same result.

    Dell U2515H menu reports
    Resolution: 2560x1440, 60Hz
    Input Color Format > RGB
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bootz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #3
    OK, good to know. So far I haven't made any hardware adjustments other than Gamma (switched from PC to MAC). I'm operating in a brightly-lit room, so Brightness and Contrast are at the 50% default. Sharpness is also at 50%.

    I'm tempted to purchase a mDP to mDP cable just for testing...
     
  4. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #4
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    both of my AOC 27" externals show Television: Yes as well
     
  6. bootz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #6

    Thank you for that. I tried connecting via HDMI this afternoon and was able to get the full 2560x1440 resolution @ 60 Hz, however I get the same "Television: Yes" displayed under the Graphics System Information. The display looks almost the same as the mDP to DP input, however the only useable color format setting is YPbPr. Selecting RGB turns the screen pink.
     
  7. RobotJon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #7
    This link on this thread worked for me. I had the same issue. Both of my monitors are now in RGB colour space.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1844285
     

Share This Page