UAD thunderbolt MCP monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by brianwilson, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. brianwilson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    #1
    Hi all, i'm having a proper 'mare here and would really appreciate some help!

    i have a late 2011 MBP with 1 thunderbolt port. i am using this to run an external monitor using DVI adaptor.

    i have just bought a UAD apollo twin - how do i power my monitor (has VGA, DVI and DP inputs) as well as run my apollo twin?

    :confused:

    massive thanks for any help.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    You will need two thunderbolt ports:
    Upgrade to a newer MBPro that has two,
    or
    Use a display that has a Thunderbolt pass-through port, such as Apple's Thunderbolt display (I don't know what affect that would have on the latency of your audio interface)
    A newer MBPro would usually also give you an HDMI port, allowing you to use your present display with HDMI, and leaving you with both Thunderbolt ports.
    or
    Add a Thunderbolt dock, such as http://store.apple.com/us/product/HB865ZM/A/belkin-thunderbolt-express-dock
     
  3. brianwilson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    #3
    have looked at all of those options.sadly can't rich to new MBP, mac displays are way too expensive for me (does any one manufacturer use TB for their monitors?) and that belkin hub is only provides one TB port.

    thanks anyways. looks like i'll have to stop using my external monitor for a while :(
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
  5. brianwilson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    #5
    annoyingly my monitor only has VGA,DVI and DP, not HDMI. :(

    i'm wondering whether a usb to DVI adaptor would work?
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Yes, I noticed that…
    You can use an HDMI to VGA, or HDMI to DVI adapter, whichever is your choice.
     
  7. bradholland macrumors newbie

    bradholland

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #7
    I'm in teh same boat as you mate, I just bought teh UAD apollo twin and am using a mac mini 2012 to drive it, I've just had to get rid of my Cinema Display 30" and I really dont want to buy a thunderbolt display.
    ua REALLY should have put a thunderbolt pass through port on this, f*&^% Idiots!

    You can get a USB3 to displayport adaptor, but this essentially ends up encoding your screen data (that has changed) into a frame buffer then decodes it on the device then sends it to your display, causes a bit of a lag, dragging windows around makes it noticeable, so I've sacked that idea off.

    I'm trying to find a 4k monitor that has thunderbolt passthrough, not having much luck yet..

    let me know how you get on! add me on skype if you like, brad.hollandgfab

    I do know how to squeeze 3840x2160 out of the HDMI port and am looking at maybe getting one of these 39" 4k screens for around $400
     

Share This Page