UH-OH My D40 Went Nuts

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by HomeingPigeon, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. HomeingPigeon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #1
    I was taking pictures today right outside my house. Maybe 3 minutes ago. All of a sudden the camera starts make a wierd noise and doesn't take pictures when I press the shutter. The screen says "Press shutter release again". I do so and it just says the error again.

    What should I do?
    This is the first time I have ever had my camera brake or anything.
     
  2. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Take it in and have a service center look at it. What kind of noise was it making?

    Hopefully it's still under warranty!

    SLC
     
  3. HomeingPigeon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #3
    I just got the camera at christmas. I think it still has warranty. The noise sounds kinda like it does when it try's to auto-focus. Just louder.
     
  4. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    That's not normal, all the D40's I've used were basically silent when autofocusing. I'd bet your camera was defective from the start!

    Take it back in, it's certainly got a warranty but the camera shop you got it from may just take it as a return and give you a new one.

    SLC
     
  5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    You will probably have to send it in to Nikon. Where did you buy it?
    Also, have you googled to see if this is a known issue? I remember my D70 had a repair recall type thing for the blinking green light of death. I never sent mine in because Nikon issued a statement saying anyone with a D70 falling within certain serial numbers can have theirs repaired at any time. Mine failed the day I boarded the plane coming home from my first trip to the UK. :) Lucky timing. ;)
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    A long shot.... Take the battery out, wait a few seconds then try again. (Kind of like re-booting a PC) You will likely have to send it back to Nikon under warenty.
     
  7. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #7
    It's under warranty, and according to the manual it needs to be serviced. They'll either replace the failing component or give you a new one.
     
  8. HomeingPigeon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #8
    I actually got it fixed just by talking to the repair shop person. I took the batteries out. Waited 2 minutes. Put the batteries back in. Took the lens out. Watched the shutter while pressing the shutter button. Then all of a sudden there was like a wall it looked like in front of the sensor that all of a sudden moved. Good to know.
     

Share This Page