UITextField Value Checking

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by dant19, Jun 8, 2011.

1. dant19 macrumors member

I am currently writing my first application, and currently the user enters a value into a textfield, presses a button that checks the value entered, and if correct the program carries on.

This is pretty standard functionality, and I want to improve the user experience so that the behaviour is as follows:

1. User enters text
    2. As each character is entered, the app checks the entire value
    3. If correct the programme automatically continues.

This means that there is no interaction by the user at all (except the input). This functionality is not suitable for every text input situation, but lends itself to my app.

I'm not looking for a solution as such (I am new to programming, so want to learn and not just copy!), but I am looking for a point in the right direction.

I have read the UITextField Class Reference and from that it looks as if the delegate is the way to go, is this correct?

Also, would this be a complex piece of functionality to implement? (relative term sure, but is it 200 lines of code or 2?

Thanks for any help!

Dan

2. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

First, welcome to the exciting world of iOS programming. And thank you for such a well-explained first question. I, and I suspect others, appreciate it.

Correct. How much do you know about setting the delegate property for a UITextField or delegation in general? Also, have a look at the UITextFieldDelegate protocol reference to perhaps get some idea what might help.

I would say closer to 2 than 200.

3. dant19 thread starter macrumors member

dejo, thank you for the great reply.

Not too familier with delagates, I have a loose understanding about what they do, but have never used them. Now that I know I'm heading in the right direction I will look at them more closely.

Thanks again.

Dan

4. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member