UK 3G sim-locks?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by biohead, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. biohead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #1
    I've hopefully just picked up an iPad 1 3G for a decent price. I wasn't sure whether to go all in for a new 2, or buy something cheaper to see if it's what I'm after, then go for the iPad 3 when it's out.

    Anyway, from what I've seen on a lot of adverts, sellers are saying they are sim-locked. I was under the impression there wasn't any locks on the iPad (irrespective of country sold). Although I'm seeing that many that say "Locked to 3" or "Locked to O2" I'm worried this might not apply in the UK.

    The one I'm getting specifically is 16GB 3G "locked" to 3UK. I don't have it yet otherwise I'd have just checked myself :roll eyes: but does anyone here have a definitive answer?
     
  2. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If they're selling it as "locked to 3", then it's definitely locked to Three. My iPad is locked to Three. I don't know whether they offer unlocks, you'd have to ring them up. None the less, I strongly recommend you use the Three network as they have the best 3G speeds I have seen and offer excellent data prices. This is, provided they offer good coverage for your area.
     
  3. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #3
    Ipad using sim card selling in USA are unlocked, you can pop any GSM sim with data service in and it works fine.
     
  4. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Except he isn't in the US....
     
  5. biohead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #5
    Well guess it is locked. If I put a Vodafone sim in, it just shows up no-service constantly. Same with my O2 one I use in the iPhone.

    Put a Three one back in and it picks up a signal within a few seconds.

    Doesn't mention any warnings in iTunes or on the iPad itself however, which I'm surprised at.
     

Share This Page