(UK) BBC iplayer streaming from iphone 4 to non jailbroken apple tv2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by taffowl, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. taffowl, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    taffowl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #1
    Not sure if this has already been posted but to my surprise I've just managed to stream videos from the bbc iplayer web app on my iPhone 4 to my apple tv that i've just updated to the latest firmware.

    It looks like the beeb has enabled airplay support for the videos on the iplayer web site. The quality is not bad. I've just been streaming the film alpha dog without any issues.
     
  2. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #2
    Under iOS 5 websites with compatible video default to AirPlay ON rather than off. The Beeb can turn it back off again, hope they don't notice :)
     
  3. fieldy au macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
  4. jon1987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #4
    I know, it's great :)

    Just hope the BBC don't change it. It's much easier and better quality than using my Wii
     
  5. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #5
    wow- must try this, I kept hoping they would introduce this feature on ipad - didnt think to use the iphone version!
     
  6. playitloud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #6
    I'm mad at all of you...wish we had bbc iplayer in the US
     
  7. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    the hugest issue for iplayer to appear in America is content licenses, hulu, netflick etc etc etc.
    I'm sure they will sort it out.

    ----------

    the hugest issue for iplayer to appear in America is content licenses, hulu, netflicks etc etc etc.
    I'm sure they will sort it out.
     
  8. newtonuk macrumors member

    newtonuk

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #8
    Sorry guys, but how do you make this work? I can't work it out at all.
     

Share This Page