UK BT help -sim card

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rtjstevens, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. rtjstevens macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield + Bath UK
    #1
    At present I'm on a low contract with BT (British Telecom) for a mere £5.00 per month. I have been given a 2G iPhone and wonder, after jailbreaking and unlocking, whether I can use the BT sim card. Some received wisdom is that it won't work - as BT don't sell iPhones, have none on their network (is this so?) and thus their servers are not set up for them. 'I would be better off with an O2 simplicity card'
    Is anyone using an iPhone on BT?

    Thanks,

    RTJ
     
  2. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Right I'm not completely sure about this as I know nothing on BT Mobile, however I know BT Cellnet became O2 quite a few years back in the UK. Also I have never had a BT Mobile sim card but I'm assuming as long as you can gather the APN settings for them and they have GPRS/EDGE coverage then you should be fine for calls and data. Also I get the feeling they are a MVNO ( Virtual Network) and use one of The 4's real networks. Beware that extra features in 3.0 might not work, Tethering etc.

    Hope this helps.:)
     
  3. rtjstevens thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield + Bath UK
    #3
    BT sim card

    Yes, thanks for that. What are APN settings and how do you get them?
    I think you're correct about BT being a VN.

    Best wishes,

    Richard
     
  4. Interpolation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    The BT cellnet card should work. You can always go to an O2 store and say the card is faulty and they should just give you a new one.

    I have a 3G and had a BT cellnet card. That did not do 3g, so I just went to an O2 store and got them to give me a new O2 sim, and they ported the number over to it, and everything worked.
     
  5. FXT 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    APN (Access Point Name) Settings are required to access cellular data networks.

    I'm sure you can ring BT up for their APN Settings or you could try this.

    I also gathered that BT Mobile is in fact a Virtual Network that did once rely on O2's network, however now uses Vodafone's network and coverage for consumer and corporate mobile broadband.

    So, mobile plan permitting, you should be able to use GPRS/EDGE networks on your iPhone, for coverage just check Vodafone's Coverage maps.

    Good luck! :)
     

Share This Page