UK Edge Settings

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by draperm25, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. draperm25 macrumors regular

    draperm25

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Swansea
    #1
    Hi All,

    Here are the current EDGE settings for all main UK networks thanks to this guys site, it has alot of things to help people out

    . Getting EDGE (gprs) to work
    · Go to Settings, General, Network, EDGE and add the following

    Vodafone UK

    · APN address: wap.vodafone.co.uk (Contract)
    · APN address: pp.vodafone.co.uk (PAYG)
    · Username: wap
    · Password: wap

    Orange UK

    · APN address (Contract): orangewap
    · APN address (PAYG): paygwap
    · Username: Orange
    · Password: Multimedia

    T-Mobile UK

    · APN address: general.t-mobile.uk
    · Username : user
    · Password: wap

    O2 UK

    · APN address: wap.o2.co.uk
    · Username : o2wap
    · Password: password

    Virgin UK

    · APN address: goto.virginmobile.uk
    · Username : user
    · Password: (leave blank)
     
  2. mikehockenballs macrumors member

    mikehockenballs

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Greater Manchester, England
    #2
    Edge Settings

    This is my first post on the site and I would just like to thankyou for posting all of these settings.
    I have had my iphone a week now but I could not connect to the internet apart from via wifi. I have looked for ages on different sites but with no luck.
    I came across this site and I have registered and with my first search I found the answer to my question and I have input the settings for Orange UK and I can now connect to the net, so thanks again mate!! I really appreciate it!!

    Cheers!!

    mikehockenballs
     
  3. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #3
    This doesn't work. I know this for a fact. The true settings are...

    APN address: internet (Contract)
    Username: wap
    Password: wap

    And that is from the Vodafone website itself too by the way.
     
  4. simon-pyeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #4
    T Mobile - Edge Settings

    Hi guys

    I had success on my i-phone using

    APN: general.t-mobile.uk
    Username: user
    Password: user

    Worked 1st time. Good luck.
     
  5. mikeberg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #5
    Edge settings

    Thanks for the settings. I notice there is nothing listed for the '3' network. will their sim cards not work in unlocked phones?
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #6
    3 are a 3G service provider. They do not work with the iPhone full stop.
     
  7. swag72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #7
    Can you tell me the settings for Tesco please?
     
  8. mike07905 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #8
    you don't even need to add wap.. all you need is internet under APN.. easy peezy..
     
  9. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #9
    Same as T-Mobile?
     
  10. swag72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #10
    After going through settings, general, network - I don't even have a menu for edge. Please help, want to get the phone working like a dream!!
     
  11. alexdudman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Midlands
    #11
    On 1.0.2 jailbroken firmware i had the edge icon appearing perfectly in the toolbar but eversince i upgraded my iPhone to 1.1.2 jailbroken there is not edge icon to be seen, even after putting in the correct o2 settings for my edge.
    I know that i have edge coverage in my are as my other phone picks it up perfectly and so did my iPhone before upgrading.

    Any ideas on how to fix this as being dis-connected isnt my cuppa tea :p?
     
  12. doom1978 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #12
    I got same issue. there is no edge setting option in my setting as well. My iphone is uk version, I unlocked it and using o2 pay as you go sim now.
     
  13. leckie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #13
    Your SIM card might be too old and not support edge.
     
  14. phelix_da_kat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #14
    EDGE: Service option not supported

    Hi all,

    Has anyone recently had the following error message when trying to log on to EDGE on Orange UK network:
    "Could not activate EDGE: Service option not supported"

    Using Gen 1 iPhone, jail broken. No problems until today. (This month) I came out of an 18 month contract, so just waiting for the Gen 2 iPhone.

    I have not had any problems (as I followed the parent post) until this weekend.

    Is it a coincidence that my contract has finished? Have read other posts about the SIM being too old?

    Thanks.
     
  15. entwife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #15


    hello there!

    as far as i can tell if you out an o2 sim in UK iphone edge settings do not come up, im presuming its because phone recognises its an o2 sim and so already has settings for the pay monthly . ive tried this with trial and error to support my ideas and found that o2 pay as u go doesnt seem to work with it, the gprs block comes up but it doesnt work. i then pop a simplicity pay monthly sim in and enjoy edge, tmob, voda etc all work fine (as the edge options turn up), so im presuming the phone

    sorry about my dodgy grammar, im at work so ive had to type this in fast as 'the man' dont approve
     
  16. ToxicShadow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #16
    noobish

    hey, first post here, and i have a noobish question... how do you get billed when you input the EDGE settings into the iPhone? eg. I have a Vodaofone payg with no mobile internet or anything, and i input the Vodafone internet iPhone settings, how will they charge me? Will they even charge me at all? Thnks!!
     

Share This Page