UK: Free Cloud access - how to use it?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulobrad, Nov 3, 2007.

  1. paulobrad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    So 6 days to go...

    I just wondered if anyone knows the plan for how we will be able to connect to the cloud hotspots for free?

    Will we need a cloud account and register the phone with it somehow or will there be something built in to the phone that just tells the cloud access point "I'm an iPhone - give me some internet"?
     
  2. dodonutter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Deep South UK
    #2
    Apparently it does it by MAC address so just connect to the network and your away...no passwords or logins...can't wait to give it a go :D
     
  3. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #3
    I have an unlocked one - so I wonder what will happen. I might try to find a cloud access point today, although for the most part it's not worth it:)
     
  4. paulo999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    #4
    I think I'm right in saying that Cloud access includes all BT Openzone hot spots. Should mean great coverage in the City of London (claimed 90%!)... and City of Westminster now has good coverage too apparently.

    Look for BT Payphones... lots of them are hotspots (in Central London at least).
     
  5. shrewsburywolf macrumors regular

    shrewsburywolf

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #5
    I guess when you activate your phone with O2 they with supply the cloud with your MAC address for the time you have a contract with them. This way it stops someone just buying an iPhone unlocking it and getting free cloud access.
     
  6. smythey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Im afraid this isnt this case, although it seems to be that bt openzone users get access to Cloud hotspots, but not vice versa.

    Unless you've got a link that says different?....
     
  7. paulobrad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Yeah, I agree. Basically BT say some of "their" openzone hot spots are "operated" by cloud. What they really mean is they are cloud hotspots but BT pay them to let their customers connect.

    So most (if not all?) cloud hotspots can be used by openzone customers but pure openzone hotspots only used by BT openzone people.

    However., heard of BT Fon? If you have BT broadband with a home hub you can sign up and it makes your home hub into an openzone hotspot so your neighbours can (securely) access your internet. In return they give you unlimited access to other home hubs doing the same thing and 500 mins on normal Openzone hotspots. http://www.btfon.com
     
  8. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #8
    when you search on the cloud website for hotspots it comes up with bt openzone hotspots. This would indicate to me that you do get access to them.
     
  9. paulobrad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Are you sure? On the openzone site it clearly shows ones that are "Cloud" operated but can't see an equivalent on the Cloud site. Any Openzone spots that are exclusively openzone don't appear in my search on the cloud site?

    Perhaps it's just the sites around where I live - got an example?
     
  10. paulo999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    #10
    Ah yes... you are right, I remember now.

    The Fon thing is cool... I might join next year, although not via BT broadband.
     
  11. smythey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    I would love to beleive that this is the case, but I think if cloud users could get access to BT Openzone hotspots, they would make this explicit somewhere on their site, as it would be a big selling point (Approx doubling the amount of hotspots available).

    I cant see anywhere on the cloud website (including the knowledge base) where it says that BT Openzone hotspots can be used.

    Compare this to to the BT Openzone site, which states this clearly.
     
  12. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
  13. sweetice2007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #13
    mine is unlocked too i jus signed up to cloud the other day paying £6.99 fo runlimited usage. i ofund that the first time i spotted a cloud point it wouldnt let me access without logging in but since i registered my mac add and pying £6.99 it let me on without logging in so its kinda groovy but i onl found one spot so far lol:rolleyes:
     
  14. mudaudio macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #14
    I have just opted in to BT FON via my BT Total Broadband account.

    I'm currently in Spain too so I am very interested to see whether I'll be able to connect at any point, either on my mac during my trip from Spain to London to buy my iPhone, or on my iPhone as I travel home to Bristol. I'd like to think it will be wifi-tastic but I seriously doubt it!

    Tell me, where did you see the 500 mins limit on OpenZone hotspots? When I opted in it said 'unlimited', but didn't specificy either way as to whether this was FON only of Openzone too. Nothing mentioned 500min, that's all I know. And also, do you mean per month, or total?

    Thanks :)
     
  15. Captain-Fungi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #15
    I have heard that the BT Fon system doesn't work with the iPod touch due to issues with authentication to the BT Fon system.

    So you authenticate ok and then when you try to request a url you just get redirected to the authentication page again!

    Anyone with an iPod Touch want to test this out?

    I opted in to BT Fon this week for the very reason of using it to increase the number of WiFi hotspots I could use to connect to with my iPhone come Friday.
     
  16. tico24 macrumors 6502

    tico24

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Eastleigh, UK
    #16
  17. paulobrad thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    This is from the FAQs when you log into BT Fon:

    I am actually a BT employee so luckily I get free Broadband Option 3 (the most expensive one anyway). So I know I get 500 Openzone and Unlimited Fon, looks like Option 2 people get 350 Fon minutes but not sure about Openzone.
     
  18. retrospek macrumors 6502

    retrospek

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #18
  19. Captain-Fungi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #19
    Maybe this will get fixed in the latest firmware release that is rumored to ship with the new iPhones on Friday?

    I sure hope so.
     
  20. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
  21. helo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #22
    the cloud website certainly lists BT payphones as Cloud hotspots. I just did a 0.5 mile search around soho and it listed about 6 or 7 payphones.
     
  22. 00hkelly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #23
    the annoying thing is, if you look on the bt openzone website it lists these spots as not owned by bt openzone.
    I really hope they get some kind of reciprocal arrangement going. Esp now their user base is going to be a lot larger with all the iphones and the increased revenue from their deal with O2, maybe openzone will open the doors.
     

Share This Page