[UK] Freesat - can I split it to go into many rooms?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ss957916, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #1
    I currently have my aerial go to a splitter in my attic to allow me to have a TV in several rooms.

    If I have a Freesat satellite dish installed, can I have it plugged into that same splitter and just have several Freesat boxes plugged into my standard aerial points in each room?
     
  2. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #2
    Also, sorry if this is in the wrong section...
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    No you need to either have a multi output dish with a freeway box in each room or split the signal coming out of the free sat box to each tv. The first way allows each tv to view it's own channel the second option allows one channel for every tv.
     
  4. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for the reply.

    So what's the technical reason it works with an aerial but not a satellite dish?
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    The dish has (likely) a single or dual LNB on it. This enables you to either watch one channel, or watch one while recording another. In the same way as with Sky, to watch in more than one room you need multiple receivers each with their own LNB. A tuner which can record simultaneously needs a dual LNB and so on.

    The reason for this is the actual LNB needs to tune slightly to receive the right channel group.
     
  6. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #6
    Ok - making sense.

    So if, for arguments sake, I wanted four TVs in the house to receive Freesat, I'd need TWO dishes each with a dual LNB?
     
  7. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #8
    I've been Reading about LNBs. If I used the coax splitter that's there to send the satellite signal into all rooms, would it not still work so long as I was happy to watch the same channel in every room?
     
  8. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    The octo LNB only costs £34, to have each of the 4 rooms fitted with 2 outputs from it will serve you much better in the long run.
     

Share This Page