UK Intel iMac Broadband Provider - Virgin Media?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Washac, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    Has anybody in the UK got their broadband from Virgin Media, I ask because the Virgin Media website states that currently there are no drivers for Intel based Macs, EH! What does that mean ?

    Thanks
     
  2. dazcox5181 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #2
    yep had 20mbit here for ages, no problems unlike some.
    Dont worry - they just switched mine straight on, never needed a cd or anything and certainly not any drivers. Plugged an airport express straight in and was on in minutes.
    Now going through a router with the xbox360 ps3, wii and work pc (urghh) plus our 3 macs ipod touch and iphone and never an issue.
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    That means try a decent ISP who has a clue. :p

    Personally, I'd recommend Zen or Eclipse....
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    We have been using Virgin for about 15 months and have had no problems…

    There is a Mac Pro, iMac and iBook in the house all connected via Virgin's provided box…

    You don't need drivers. :D
     
  5. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #5
    Be+ are freaking fast! Up to 24 Mb/s, I regularly get 20...
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #6
    I've been on Virgin / Telewest broadband for about 5 years.

    No problems at all with connecting Macs. Just make sure you get a modem with ethernet and you will be fine.
     
  7. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    Hi


    Its the Intel based IMacs they state the driver thing for, very strange.

    Did'nt mention before but I want telephone as well, totaly and utterly hacked off with the way BT deal with customers these days. Just been on the phone with them and got a total load of lies from their off shore customer complaints dept....

    I rang them last November re a fault on my/their line, they send out and engineer to fix the line, now they are trying to charge me £282 odd to pay for them to fix their line. They then stated tonight that the charges were explained to my wife, very strange as she did not even speak to them.

    Sick of them from the top down, time to leave them behind and move on me thinks.
     
  8. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #8
    I was with NTL for about 5 years. Service changed over to Virgin Media, then everything turned to ****. The service when it did work, worked fine on my Macbook.
     
  9. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #9
    stay well clear of them now im afraid..

    the virgin/ntl/telewest/blueyonder net work is so oversubscribed that the network cant handle it...
    my 20mb connection, which is supposed to be always steady, was never above 8mb, and it was always having work done to it.

    i dread to think how bad it will be when 50mb goes live next year.

    im now on o2 16mb, and its superb. its £10pm with my iPhone contract and is always a steady 12-14mb.

    how ironic considering adsl was suposed to be the unsteady stream and cable was meant to be always there.....

    and O2 is great for mac's too.
     
  10. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I was with NTL, they were always reliable and I miss them, I moved to a road which isn't cabled, my tiscali service now sucks.
     
  11. Gaz545 macrumors newbie

    Gaz545

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #11
    Few of my mates have Virgin media 20mb cable connection, they say it's total pants, there getting pooled and hardly get 20mb connection let alone 10mb.
     
  12. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #12
    Hi

    Seems I should avoid VM then...

    I am after somebody who can give me a reliable broadband/telephone service, I want to get rid of BT/Openreach....
     
  13. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #13
    With Blueyonder (now VM) about 7 years, no problems with them, it all works fine with Macs.
     
  14. Mitch1984 macrumors 6502

    Mitch1984

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Telford
    #14
    I was with them before they merged with ntl and subsequently bought virgin mobile.

    My experiences with them for broadband were good. At least with cable broadband you get the speeds they say and it doesnt depend I. How many in your street are online either.

    All they mean is that you won't be able to use their software that they bundle in. If they are talking about the router. Don't worry orange said that about their livebox, but I found a workaround.
     
  15. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #15
    Don't go with virgin, from about 11am till 7pm the internet is literally un-useable, speeds of 3-4kbps TOPS, go with a obscure (professional) provider, not a crappy consumer one.
     
  16. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #16
    Virgin Media 20MBit Service

    Hey:

    I have 4 Mac's and 1 PC in the house all connected via an Airport Extreme (802.11n) router, which is hooked up via ethernet to a Motorola modem.

    I've had no problems with speed issues

    Here's a screenshot of a speed test I did a few weeks back:

    http://monkeymagic.servehttp.com/stuff/screenshots/speed_test.png

    pac
     
  17. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #17
    Well I guess it really is a case of being lucky…
    Just did a speed test: 19533kbps Down and 726kbps Up
    Mac Pro connected via ethernet.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #18
    I've been with NTL (not VM) for 7 years..

    had no problems with my WinPc and for the past 3 years my iMac..

    no drivers, no nothing.. no problems..

    in all the 7 years i have experienced about 4-5 loss of connections .. which is pretty good imo!

    on 20mb connection atm
     
  19. vendettabass macrumors 6502a

    vendettabass

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #19
    thats a fantastic deal!
     
  20. jaded-mandarin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    there seem to be pros/cons for every isp. it's just generally down to user's own personal experiences with these different companies.
     
  21. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #21
    I was always with Homechoice 8Mb DSL which used to be great and very Mac-friendly. However, since the Tiscali takeover the service has been steadily going through the floor. Be are at our exchange with ADSL2+. Seriously considering it.
     

Share This Page