Resolved [UK] iPad 2 locked to 3 network?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MarcBook, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. MarcBook, Oct 16, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011

    MarcBook macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I've got an iPad 2 that I bought from the UK network '3'. I'm trying to figure out whether or not it's locked to 3; I've tried my Vodafone micro SIM, which results in 'Invalid SIM'/'SIM Failure'.

    Unfortunately, 3's name makes Googling for this information rather tricky, so it would be great to hear from someone who's got experience with their network and their supplied iPads.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Absolutely, they are locked to the carrier you buy them with. I also have a Three iPad 2.
     
  3. boy-better-know macrumors 65816

    boy-better-know

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I also have a 3 iPad 2, and would like to unlock it. Anyone know how to do it?
     
  4. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Ring up Three, they may unlock it, for some fee I imagine.
     
  5. boy-better-know macrumors 65816

    boy-better-know

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Will do just that when rumors for the next iPad ramp up so i can sell it.
     
  6. MarcBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #6
    Thanks, guys. The girl in the shop said she wasn't sure, but thought it's probably locked. I guess she was right. :rolleyes:

    Bit of a bummer that it's locked.
     
  7. pobus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I don't think they are all locked from Three - I just put my O2 sim from my iphone into my Three iPad 2 and it showed the network, but I got a message saying I haven't bought a data package for use on iPad (obviously).

    If it's locked it won't recognise the SIM

    ----------

    Wow - in testing that, I also just discovered that my Three sim works in my O2 iPhone! No more running out of data on my stingy O2 contract :D
     

Share This Page