UK iPad has option for Apple Pay Cash

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ventmore, Apr 2, 2018.

  1. ventmore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #1
    When I was setting up my new iPad (2018), I noticed in the settings that I had Apple Pay cash enabled. I don’t have the option on my iPhone, so went investigating. I found that the region of the iPad was set to the US for some reason, even though I restored it from a backup of my phone which is set to UK.

    I’ve since set the set the region correctly, but I still have the toggle to set up Apple Pay cash in settings, and turning it on seems to walk me through the process. I cancelled before the end however, so I’m not sure if it would have completed......though I suspect it wouldn’t have.

    Is anybody else in the UK seeing this?
     
  2. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #2
    Well Apple Pay cash has not been made available in the UK, so I’m guessing that process wouldn’t have finished.
     
  3. ventmore thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #3
    Yep...me too. Just seems strange. The option is still there after several reboots.
     
  4. iGeek2014 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #4
    I restored my iPhone SE to 11.2.6 from 11.3 and set it up as new; region was sent to UK but still appeared in my Wallet app.

    Knew it wouldn’t work but went through the steps then it comes up with an error message saying the photo identification wasn’t accepted.
     
  5. ventmore thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #5
    Thanks mate...glad to see it’s not just me. Must be just a bug. :)
     
  6. iGeek2014 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #6
    Very likely, yes.

    Think it’s also appeared on people’s phones in Ireland and I think Spain too.

    Would be great if Apple have partnered with some of our banks and building societies so we can perhaps use the facility in the not too-distant future.
     
  7. ventmore thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long. I can see it being very useful. :)
     
  8. iGeek2014 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #8
    Well I tried it seeing as I’m running the PB of iOS 11.4 and received this email from Apple:

    304F8E87-58DD-462A-94CA-EA0481145495.png
     
  9. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Had to restore my phone yesterday and noticed it too, tried to set it up to see what happened but obviously failed. Toggle isn't there any more after I turned it off.

    Fingers crossed it means it's on its way here soon...
     
  10. iGeek2014 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Location:
    === Nowheresville ===
    #10
    One way to ‘get it back’ is by setting your iDevice to English (U.S) in the Region Settings then it appears again.

    Revert back to English (U.K) and it stays put until you toggle it off.
     

Share This Page