UK iPhone - O2 recepion. And how many have seen EDGE yet

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by afd, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. afd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Sorry if this has been covered before, but how are others finding the o2 reception? Both at home and at work I find the signal varies drastically, going from No-Signal to nearly 4 or 5 bars. All this when I am in the same place. Our house has thick stone walls and work is brick and concrete, maybe this has something to do with it. Does seem strange how much it varies, don't understand that.

    Also have yet to see an EDGE signal yet although with a good reception GPRS is faster than I expected. Anyone else seen an EDGE signal yet and how much faster does it seem?
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    I'm on O2 with an LG Prada. In the Wales and West area it uses EDGE most of the time. I've not noticed much difference in speed to be honest.
     
  3. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    edge was much better than i had expected after reading from initial us users, but i have heard uk edge has a higher bandwidth
     
  4. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #4
    Going off what reviews have said, the rapidly fluctuating signal is a 'feature' of the iPhone itself. Some reviewers note that calls will actually drop due to it. I wouldn't worry about it unless it's stopping you from using the phone.
     
  5. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #5
    My recepetion is fine, mostly full bars, no edge in my area but when I am on edge don't notice that much os a speed increase.
     
  6. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
  7. afd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    just annoying if you're in middle of a text conversation and "No-Signal" appears. The signal does come back, but it is a bit of a pain that it goes at all.
     
  8. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #8
    The signal has been OK but I have noticed the no service message in places where I know my previous phones have all been problem free.

    EDGE in Glasgow city centre works great.
     
  9. rjackman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #9
    I have not seen the EDGE logo yet but didn't expect to where i live, GPRS just feels like dial up which is fine fro me on a mobile phone.
     
  10. Yixian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    I was connected to GPRS/Edge yesterday but today it says "Could not activate EDGE".

    Omg help....
     
  11. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #11
    Have you tried switching the iPhone off and on? This seems to cure the problem for many people.
     
  12. caseys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #12
    Seems there's great reception in the South. I have Edge service at home and at work.

    I must admit after trying to log into my account on the apple store on GPRS, then on Edge I noticed a remarkable difference.
     
  13. benfilan macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    my reception has been fine. EDGE has been on too - in belfast city, but i've noticed that if the signal is weak it drains my battery a lot.
     
  14. cyberbolt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
  15. afd thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    not been in glasgow since I got phone on friday night:)
     
  16. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #16
    I get it in my house, but I have wifi their so pretty useless.
     
  17. talazem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #17
    Is Edge access a condition for visual voicemail to work? Are people who do *not* have edge access able to access their visual voicemail? (in the UK, on the o2 network).
     
  18. pilesofstones, Nov 13, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2013
  19. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #19
    John Fowles :p

    GPRS is a BLANK blue or white box beside the carrier name.

    When you're in an Edge coverage area, the box has an "E" in it.
     
  20. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #20
    Well I'm surprised (pleasantly) to say that I've got Edge coverage in my house which is outside a very small village about 15 miles outside of Edinburgh. Result.
     
  21. Moleshome macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #21
    Nope, visual voicemail works without Edge. After ringing O2 support though I discovered that you cannot decline calls to voicemail if you have call waiting enabled.
     
  22. Tymmz macrumors 65816

    Tymmz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #22
    call 202. I had to give O2 a ring and they will activate the service. It will take up to 24 hours.

    Edit: just got a call from o2. They said it can take up to 5 days. Oh well.
     
  23. crunkcrumpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
  24. emotion macrumors 68040

    emotion

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #24
    Well that's a start in the NW. Manchester ain't so good.
     
  25. deniser macrumors 6502

    deniser

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Cornwall, England
    #25
    O2 have the worst coverage of all the providers where I live. I live in a rural area in the SW of UK. With voda I can get 3.5g upstairs, orange 3g, 3 3g, and o2 not even edge !! In my last house I often could not get a signal on o2 hence I changed networks.

    So it is important for me to be able to unlock the iphone just to be able to use it !!!
     

Share This Page