UK nMP Arriving Now..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by arjunchawda, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. arjunchawda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #1
    So, my CTO Mac Pro was ordered on the 19th Dec a few mins after the website went live..

    6-Core
    32GB RAM
    D300
    500GB SSD

    I had received the 'will dispatch in january' email.
    Got an estimated delivery date of Wednesday 15th January.

    Got home early this morning at 9:20am (13th Jan), pulled up on my driveway, saw a UPS truck..

    Thought to myself - what are the chances...

    UPS man walks up to my driveway.

    I get out of the car, and there it is.

    New Mac Pro, delivered early...

    Really made my day...!


    photo 1.JPG

    photo 2.jpg

    photo 3.jpg

    photo 4.jpg

    photo 5.jpg
     
  2. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #2
    The only thing which set me back with installation was that out of my three monitors, two of the work at once...

    All three of them are HDMI, (two of them with thunderbolt to hdmi adapters).

    Shortly after googling this, it does mention you can only use two hdmi displays at once on the apple support website.

    photo 1.jpg

    photo 2.jpg

    photo 3.jpg
     
  3. airdrop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #3
    Congrats, and anjoy!

    I love the case for nMP (on the last picture) ... :)
     
  4. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #4
    Thank You!

    Setting everything up now!

    The wooden enclosure box was custom made for me in December, when i knew i was going to get a mac pro.

    it's pretty cool.

    just wish there was a remote control to power on the mac pro!
     
  5. motegi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    sydney.au
    #5
    I hope you have good venting for the airflow in that wooden box!
     
  6. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #6
    it does get warm..
     

    Attached Files:

  7. CD1212 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    #7
    Great setup!

    When did your order status change from processing?
     
  8. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #8
    Thanks!

    I think it changed last thursday / friday
     
  9. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #9
    Where is it pulling air from, are there vents other than the cable management hole near the bottom of that case? Personally I'd have holes everywhere at the top and bottom, though it probably wouldn't look as neat once I was through with it ;)
     
  10. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #10
    just the hole for cables and the top vents..

    i MAY take the mac pro out of there and put my external hard drive in the box...

    it does get pretty hot at the moment..
     
  11. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #11
    Is it raised off the desk at all? An alternative could be to have it raised, e.g - with two bits of wood the length of the case at each side so there's a clear gap underneath, then have vents like there are on the top put in underneath?

    It does look really neat, but yeah, the Mac Pro absolutely needs plenty of airflow :D
     
  12. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #12
    Yeah I wouldn't leave it in there. It should be quiet enough for audio work and that's just asking for trouble.
     
  13. borad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #13
    Not wanting to be another depressing person, but with the low “roof” and top vents not above the computer, it seems you’re going to be recirculating a fair amount of unnecessarily warm air through the machine.

    But what do I know, it’s not like mine has arrived and I can comment based on observation… Damn you ;)
     
  14. arjunchawda thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #14
    i may get some vents cut out around the bottom of the box....

    for now i've kept it outside of the wooden enclosure - it seemed to get VERY warm inside there...
     
  15. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #15
    Why dont place it right beside your monitor? Are you able to capture the noise from the machine, just curious?
     
  16. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #16
    I would take it out before you brick it. The design needs a few inches of open air to draw in the bottom and a clear airway path at the exhaust out the top.
     

Share This Page