[UK] O2 iPhone + Sky Anytime Remote Recording

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by applemax, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. applemax macrumors 65816

    applemax

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    #1
    Hi

    I'm a heavy user of the Sky+ remote recording service available on mobiles. There are 2 ways of doing this.

    1) Use the Sky Anytime Application (Uses Java)
    2) Go to http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/tvguide/tvlistings and
    choose your programme there. (Uses JavaScript - I think! :D)

    Basically, I was wondering if someone with an iPhone or an iPod touch (even someone with a Sky+ account) could test http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/tvguide/tvlistings and see if the tv listings are fully functional and you can click on programme descriptions, etc...

    Thanks for your help!


    Max
     
  2. Project macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
  3. applemax thread starter macrumors 65816

    applemax

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    #3
    Hmm - so does that mean that the iPhone supports JavaScript?
     
  4. Project macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #4
    Of course - its pretty much the full Safari browser.
     
  5. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #5
    Of course, WebKit has two elements: the WebCore and the JavaScriptCore.

    Java is what it doesn't support, or more accurately, Java craplets run through the browser, which no one uses anyway. Any sites which use a Java back-end will be viewable on iPhone, but no end users have no reasons to know or care about what languages are used server side.

    Flash is missing, but most sites which utilise Flash normally provide a standard HTML alternative. That said, it may be added in the future, but full flash (not flash lite used on mobiles) is fairly processor intensive.
     
  6. chiff23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #6
    I just tried on my iPhone and the listings came up fine. But when i try to log in, Safari crashes.
     
  7. mappyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Doesn't work for me either, crashes upon login or gets stuck into into a loop sequence.
     
  8. Moleshome macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #8
    +1
     
  9. orangebits macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
  10. steveapp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    I'd second the use of TV Plus, its a great bit of software and works flawlessly for me with my Sky HD setup - i actually use it to set recordings more than i use the sky box itself now, the search is far better.

    Stephen
     

Share This Page