UK O2 PAYG/SIMPLICITY users... have you used ziphone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by anim8or, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #1
    Have any UK O2 PAYG/SIMPLICITY users jailbroken their iphones using ziphone yet?

    If so what options did you use? -a -j -u -v????

    Would i be correct in saying that UK non iphone O2 sim dont need to unlock
    so -a -j -v should suffice?

    Any feedback would be great for the community.

    Any problems, did you need to restore to original FW before doing it? Have you used itunes to upgrade to 1.1.3?
    Does YouTube work?
    Any issues concerning calling out, SMS, wifi, itunes music purchases... anything.

    Also which OS did you use - PC or MAC, XP or Vista, 10.5.1 or 10.5.2, itunes 7.5 or itunes 7.6.

    Any answers would be great.
     
  2. metoo6000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I updated my 1.1.2 OTB iPhone to 1.1.3 using iTunes 7.6 on OS X, then did jailbreak, activation and unlock using ziPhoneGUI 1.1 version on Windows XP.

    The result is... *everthing* works fine. All my settings and customised ringtones, etc. are intact. Oh, had to install 'locateme' to use google map's new function. I am happy. :rolleyes:
     
  3. raymanster macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I'm on O2 simplicity £25/month tariff. just got a UK 8 GB iPhone brand new never activated. Version now says 1.1.3 and modem firmware 04.02.13_G.

    Here's what I did:

    1. Tried to unlock using Ziphone 1.0 on my Windows XP laptop with no iTunes installed. Used the GUI and Ziphone couldn't find the phone.

    2. Tried installing Ziphone 2.0 on the same laptop and it somehow conflicted with 1.0 so couldn't install, so scrapped that.

    3. Installed Ziphone 2.0 on a desktop PC with XP and old iTunes. Updated iTunes to latest version. Ran Ziphone Gui, it recognised the iPhone, did it's thing but didn't work. The iPhone was stuck on the Apple logo page.

    4. Recovered iPhone using iTunes to factory settings (phone on the dock press power button and home button, then let go of power button). Tried step 3 a couple more times with no success.

    5. Did a search, tried Ziphone command line and made sure to use -v option. Command i used was -u -a -j -v and it worked, unlocked!

    I could use Youtube over wifi at home. Only problem i came across which is common to other non-hacked phones was the earpiece volume. This somehow fixed itself today.
     
  4. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    yes, exactly that. apparently there are issues with -a -j...

    technically yes, see above

    used itunes to restore to 1.1.3 (from jailbroken 1.1.2 OOB), then used ziphonw

    all works (except i havent tried music store purchases...)
    i still need to try edge (need to change APN etc) but all else seems to work

    ive done it several times, vista and leopard 10.5.2 - both with itunes 7.6
     
  5. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #5
    Ru a simplicity or payg o2 user?

    Also just to be sure, you recommend using -a -j -u even tho u have a o2 uk sim?
     
  6. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    neither - im on an o2 contract, but not the iphone contract
    basically im a simplicity user, i just pay a bit more to cover the phone i bought with the contract (a sony ericsson k810i)

    yes, exactly
    -j -a did nothing for me, it just bought me back to the activation screen
    maybe -j -a -v will work - try it
    if it fails, just try -a -j -u -v instead
     
  7. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #7
    Does anyone know why we know have to unlock the iphone to uses a uk O2 sim (non-iphone) when with firmware 1.1.2 ootb we only had to jailbreak+(h)activate it?

    This is the exact reason why i am staying with 1.1.2 until further development has been done....

    ....im even contemplating just activating my offical iphone sim!

    I dont wat to be left behind if newer firmwares add content that i cannot live without.

    1.1.3 isnt worth it but who knows what the future holds.
     
  8. zetsurin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    I've done the -a -j and am left with no signal (O2 PAYG SIM). The reason is apparently some of the SIM checking security has been incorporated into the 1.1.3 baseband. For this reason, if you are running the latest 1.1.3 firmware, it will now only allow a legitimate iPhone contract SIM to function.

    You have the following options:

    1. Wait (I will for a little bit longer) for a solution.
    2. Unlock via Ziphone or similar means. This will have the negative side effect of installing the previous baseband on your phone (it doesn't work with the latest baseband with 4.9BL), and you potentially finding your phone spontaneously popping itself into recovery mode every now and then (not ideal!) that a large number of people running 1.1.3 firmware with the previous baseband have experienced.
    3. Downgrade your bootloader to 3.9 using Ziphone or gbootloader. This is risky though and if it fails you will definitely have a permanent brick. For this reason I have been reluctant to do this. Also once you go down to 3.9, there is currently no known way to go back to 4.6 bootloader, which potentially misses the opportunity of working with a patched bootloader in the future (this may/may not be important).
    4. Downgrade back to 1.1.2. I suspect a quick way to do this is with Ziphone unlock which will effectively return you to the 1.1.2 baseband, followed by a 1.1.2 restore in iTunes, leaving you with 1.1.2 as you bought the phone.

    Right now the only effective solution for a jailbroken 1.1.3 with unlock with the latest baseband requires a 3.9 bootloader.
     
  9. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #9
    I am on 1.1.2 jb'd with absolutely no intention at present to upgrade at least not until there is a simple effective solution like the 1.1.2 jailbreak.
     
  10. Moleshome macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #10
    Are you sure? This guy (link) :p seems pretty insistent you don't have to.
     
  11. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #11
    LMAO! :rolleyes:

    At the time all reports of jailbreaking/activating for country specific sims (uk-o2, us-att, etc) were saying all sorts of things, hence this thread!

    The only answer i now know is that there is NO definitive answer!

    Good Luck to all...

    PS to Moleshome - have you read the post that i ask the question? Its in response to someone who has done the process and found that there was no signal without the unlock. The question is legitimate and in the current climate of unlocking the global opinion can change from hour to hour.... best bet i think is to wait for it to all blow over!

    Must say i did laugh when i read my post from your link!
     

Share This Page