UK Orange Edge Touble, 1.1.4

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by milky bar kid, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. milky bar kid macrumors newbie

    milky bar kid

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I have just got an iPhone and unlocked it yesterday with and Orange sim in it. The trouble i am having is that i can get on the internet and pick up mail etc but it seems to be staying on GPRS as the E is not appearing on the top bar. This is a bit annoying as it is rather slow. I have tried two different Edge settings and they are both the same. It seems a bit strange as I have full signal but never get Edge in different areas. Any ideas or help much appreciate.

    Thanks
     
  2. neorockz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #2
    Have you used this setting yet?

    APN (Contract): orangewap
    APN (PayAsYouGo): paygwap
    User name : Orange
    Password : Multimedia
     
  3. milky bar kid thread starter macrumors newbie

    milky bar kid

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes mate that's the settings that i have at the moment and i still can't seem to get edge in any of the places that i get a signal which is usually quite good. Do orange still use edge even though they are now on 3g? The next thing i can try is to reset the network settings see if that helps. Any other ideas? Anyone on orange with an iphone that can get edge?
     
  4. milky bar kid thread starter macrumors newbie

    milky bar kid

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    The only thing that i can think of is that there isn't any edge network coverage where i am trying to get it. Has anyone got an iPhone running with an Orange sim and managed to get edge?
     
  5. neorockz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #5
    yeah my EDGE works fine and im using orange sim.
    i have used these settings aswell and they have worked, give them a try.

    APN - orangeinternet
    Username - user
    Password - pass
     
  6. edcarnaghan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #6
    I think you guys are missing an important point. O2 is the ONLY network to use EDGE in the UK, isn't it?

    You can use GPRS on Orange, but that's it...
     
  7. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
  8. Ol!ver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    #8
    Orange does have EDGE, but it's pretty much non-existent.
     
  9. drpellypo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #9
    I live in the North, and I get edge practically everywhere I go.
     
  10. milky bar kid thread starter macrumors newbie

    milky bar kid

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Where abouts in the north do ya live? I live in chesire and i haven't managed to get an edge signal once where i live. I sent an email to Orange asking them what there coverage was like and all they said is that there network still supports it and coverage is high. I tried to find out a bit more info but they didn't get back to me. Can you just confirm which settings you are using to please mate.
     
  11. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #11
    Well, I have Edge but at home there is no Edge signal.

    Maybe you just need to get out more :)
     

Share This Page