UK Student

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Todd234, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Todd234 macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm a university student in the UK and I am looking to buy a Macbook Pro in the summer. I'm going to upgrade to full spec. My questions are:
    1. Will I be able to order it from an Apple high street store using the Higher education discount?
    2. Will I be able to order an upgraded mac from the high street store and get it delivered? I understand that they only sell standard models.

Thanks for your help.

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

3. RevolutionOne macrumors member

RevolutionOne

You can use education discount in Apple stores, all you need is either your student ID or NUS card as proof. They will also ask for the post code of the university to check if it is on the list. If the the university is on their list you will get roughly 15% (last time i checked) off a macbook pro, if its not listed then its about 6% off.

The only options you've got in store to configure is the RAM which is very expensive, use crucial instead! You can also choose whether you want a matte or glossy screen. So pretty much standard configurations like you said. Some stores might carry a few of the 2.6ghz models occasionally.

The stores won't deliver either. What is the spec of the machine you want? Why wouldn't you just collect it on the day?

Another thing I would recommend is AppleCare. It's usually £279 but Apple do it for £58.75 for students which is an awesome deal

4. chrispayne47 macrumors newbie

Incorrect I believe.

Last summer I bought my MBP with the full HE discount upon showing either my NUS/Loan Approval Form. They have a list of different universities behind the desk and seem to have slightly different discounts depending on what university you are at.

5. Todd234 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for replying, the spec I want is:
    15"
    2.6GHz
    4GB RAM
    200GB HD 7200RPM