UK to USA facetime

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by frenchie0101, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. frenchie0101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #1
    why is it i cant facetime to the USA i have tried 3 different numbers now and it just dont connect
     
  2. batman75 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #2
    I don't know but I hope they either resolve this or that the api is available to Skype and others so we can do this via third-parties.

    I want to Facetime with my brother in london.
     
  3. LordOBoogie macrumors 6502a

    LordOBoogie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #3
    Hmm. Does it work locally for you? I've had no problems with FaceTime at all, but I haven't tried it overseas yet. None of my friends in the UK have an iPhone 4 yet.
     
  4. DustyLBottoms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #4
  5. frenchie0101 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #5
    just had the guy call me and it appears from the number what came up you have to put +1 at the front first and then the number which is given. Managed to finally FaceTime a fellow user in Texas
     
  6. frenchie0101 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #6
    yeah locally its fine, but as my above post says i think i found what the issue was
     
  7. LordOBoogie macrumors 6502a

    LordOBoogie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #7
    Cool. Glad you got it to work.
     
  8. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #8
    I can't seem to get this to work from the UK to USA. I tried calling the Apple FaceTime test number in both formats 001 888 3223846 and +1 888 3223846 but both tell me FaceTime is not available, any ideas?
     
  9. ldkaplan macrumors regular

    ldkaplan

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Location:
    N. Georgia
    #9
    Make sure you enable face time it the settings -> phone.
     
  10. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #10
    Yes it's already enabled as I have already used it with a friend.
     
  11. Exegesis48 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    #11
    My wife and her mother in the UK have been on facetime almost 24/7 since they got their iPhone 4s. They haven't had any problems at all. In fact, it seems to work better than on the laptops.
     
  12. leesweet macrumors demi-god

    leesweet

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #12
    Idiot answer, and the +1 is really the same thing but: did both of you turn on the international dialing option? May or may not make a difference.
     
  13. magga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #13
    Well +1 does the same thing as 001 when international dialing as far as im aware. I can't find the international dialing setting you are referring to but I would assume that if it was disabled then it would give me an error about making an international call rather than a FaceTime error.
     

Share This Page