UK unlocked iphone and warranty

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jpasmith, May 19, 2008.

1. jpasmith macrumors newbie

hi UK user here, thinking of buying an unlocked 16gb model, of which there are plenty on ebay, can anyone tell me whether unlocking an iphone/ jilbreaking it will invalidate the apple warranty?

also i will be using t-mobile uk, not the o2 network that is fully set up for internet coverage, therefore wifi will be the main way i use the internet, i am completely new to anything aple (havnt owned an ipod, mac etc), will functions like weather etc auto update as soon as the phone is within wifi range? equally will it sync with my computer wirelessly or only using the usb dock?

fairly basic questions i know but the damn phone just does so much its pretty bewildering!

2. gkerr4 macrumors member

as far as I know - jailbreaking / unlocking DOES breach the warranty conditions - you won't have a waranty from apple if you do this.

it doesn't auto-update on wifi - but will update when you select the app - even if you are not on a wifi network - so be careful or you will encounter some data usage on your contract

sorry - it only sync's on the USB dock - the bluetooth model is very much locked down to headset / car kit only. (Even the hacked ones!)

3. senorFunkyPants macrumors 6502

senorFunkyPants

Firstly UK iphones that have not been signed up to the iphone specific O2 contract (ie unactivated) are still covered by warranty.
    If you jailbreak/unlock your iphone and in the process screw up the iphones software then most likely you are on your own.
    However if your iphone developes a hardware problem then it will be covered by warranty although it would be safest to restores its software to ex-factory condition before returning it for repair/exchange to avoid any problems.
    The Sale of goods act gives extensive protection to the UK consumer beyond even the one year warranty that Apple give.

4. 7on macrumors 601

7on