Ultimate Reliability with SSD, HDD, Time Machine, Time Capsule and CCC.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mstgkillr, May 26, 2012.

1. mstgkillr, May 26, 2012
    Last edited: May 26, 2012

mstgkillr macrumors regular

After my recent Crucial M4 256GB SSD failure, I am trying to setup up my MacBook Pro to be extreemly reliable by using a new SSD, factory 750GB HDD, Time Machine, 3 TB Time Capsule, and CCC.

I am new to this but this is what I am thinking...
    Install the SSD in the normal location and install the factory 750GB HDD in place of the superdrive using the OWC Data Doubler.

Once everything is installed, completly erase both drives, reinstall Lion on the SSD. Then create two partitions on the 750GB HDD, one for movies, music, pictures, etc... and the second partition as a clone of the SSD.

Then I would use CCC to automaticly clone a copy of the SSD to the HDD. This way if the SSD failed again I could just boot straight from the HDD with zero down time.

Finally, I would use Time Machine to backup both the SSD and the HDD to the 3TB Time Capsule.

Does this sound like it would work, or is there an easier/better way? I already have the equipment, so that isn't an issue.

2. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

I never really understood the point of using time machine if you have CCC, but thats exactly what I do (except my external is also a CCC clone rather that a TM backup).

EDIT: didn't see that you were using Time Capsule, so yeah thats probably the best way to do things

3. mstgkillr thread starter macrumors regular

I like the idea of having automatic wireless backups with Time Maching using the Time Capsule. I am under the impression in order to use CCC, you have to be connected and can't do it over wifi. I know it's sad but if I have to plug something in it won't get done.

Since my SSD is 256GB, should I make the partition on the HDD for the SSD backup 256GB also? This would leave me around 494GB for the second partition for movies, music, photos.