Ultra2 SCSI in Quadra 950?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by SirFoxx, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. SirFoxx, Mar 3, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014

    SirFoxx macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #1
    I just got my hands on an IBM 18gb ultra2 scsi drive, 68 pin, and I was wondering if this, with an adapter, would work in my quadra. I know the bus rate is 10x faster than the regular scsi. Also, would the fact it being 18gb pose a problem when installing OS 7? Currently, this is currently my only working SCSI drive, and I would like to install it in my Quadra.
     
  2. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #2
    Yup, it will work fine. You'll need a third party formatting program, as Apple HD SC Setup won't format non-Apple-ROM drives. But it will work just fine.

    I used to use that EXACT drive in my SE/30 server.
     
  3. SirFoxx thread starter macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #3
    Can I format it within the install process with a 3rd party tool? If not I have an older performa I can use. Do you remember what tool you used?
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Yeah, you boot from the install disk, swap in the disk with the formatting tool, format, put the install disk back in, and launch the installer.
     

Share This Page