"ultrasn0w" Won't Install Properly on Cydia/Icy

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by xkRoWx, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. xkRoWx macrumors regular

    xkRoWx

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I just jailbroken my iPhone 3G, firmware 3.0 (7A341) with modem firmware 04.26.08 using redsn0w. I wish to unlock my phone so it can be used for another carrier in Canada.

    But for some odd reason, after adding repo666.ultrasn0w.com on both Cydia and Icy, ultrasn0w won't install at all. Also, Cydia won't upgrade for some off reason. During installation for both Cydia and Icy an error message popped up and said:

    Error
    Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

    dpkg: parse error, in file "/var/lib/dpkg/status' near line 26 package 'firmware'
    duplicate value for user-defined field 'Name'

    What do I do now? Any members having the same trouble as I do?
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    If you installed Icy and Cydia both during JB, many have reported problems.

    All you need is Cydia, Icy seems to be causing problems when installed during JB

    Did you use the newest version of Redsn0w (.0.8) ?? or PT 3.0.1 ??
     
  3. xkRoWx thread starter macrumors regular

    xkRoWx

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I believe it was the newest version. Could I just uninstall Icy, as I no longer have access to a AC powered USB hub?
     
  4. Fungie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle
    #4
    Here's the link for Pwnage but it includes unlocking instructions as well. My 3g wasn't locked with any carriers so after using Pwnage it unlocked itself - may be you could try jailbreaking with Pwnage it might work?

    http://www.modmyi.com/forums/iphone-news/635661-how-jailbreak-iphone-firmware-3-0-pwnagetool.html

    PS: I didn't have any problems with Cydia or Icy, Icy was kind of just a list of Cydia installed apps... so unnecessary, so I think Icy isn't really what's causing your problem but I may b wrong...:confused:
     
  5. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #5
    Same problem here. I have JB with pwnage tool 3.0.
     
  6. Fungie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle
    #6
    Before going to Cydia have you guys synced with iTunes yet?
     
  7. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #7
    I have just literally JB my phone again for the 4th time (shame i cant get it right... i would be an expert by now) with pwanage tool 3.0; I have not installed ICY and before syncing to itunes i tried to install ultrasn0w but I get a message saying the repo666.ultrasn0w.com is not found.

    after syncing i will try again.
     
  8. Fungie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle
    #8
    O shoot my bad - when I first tried to JB my phone I used a pwnage.dmg that was sort of broken. The one that worked for me is 22.7 MB on disk, check that this is the one you guys have, this might be the reason why Cydia doesn't work properly ;)

    @ jota : took me like 5 times to get my phone properly jailbroken :( just the way of the world I suppose
     
  9. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #9
    same message after syncing and trying to add repo666.ultrasn0w.com

    DID NOT FIND REPOSITORY... the indicated repository could not be found. this could be because you are trying to add a legacy installer repository (these are not supported) Also this interface is only capable of working with exact repository urls. if you host a repository and are having issues please contact the author of cydia with any questions you have
     
  10. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #10
    mine is 22.7 too.
     
  11. Fungie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Newcastle
    #11
    O my I can't even find ultrasn0w and my phone is working >.> all I can remember is once jailbroken I went into Cydia and got "respring" and "icy pwnage tool bundle" which apparently is a fix for Icy + Cydia.

    But I can't add ultrasn0w on both Cydia and Icy so devteam must be fixing it or something I'll check out the blog and see if anything comes up
     
  12. Kocj22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    #12
    u have to put a / after .com. The full source is http://repo666.ultrasn0w.com/
     
  13. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #13
    Going through another forum someone mentioned the same problem and apparently its because some IPS ban certain URLS ( For instance, I cant access http://ultrasn0w.com from my home network) SO the solution is trying in someone else's network; which I have and have installed ultrasn0w and works fine.
     
  14. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #14
    I had similar problems after putting both Cydia and Icy on through RedSn0w.

    I solved it by:

    1. DFU mode back to a clean 3.0 in iTunes

    2. Run RedSn0w, select just Cydia not Icy

    3. Run Cydia updates

    4. Install Icy from Cydia

    Now things are fine.
     
  15. cheddaman123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #15
    hey guys im not really saavvy when it comes to this. i dont quite understand what you guys did in order to get the repository message to go thru. i have just downloaded cydia only and keep trying to put in the http:// but i keep getting the same message. do you think either of you can help with a more detailed way that youve done this? thanks a lot.
     
  16. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #16
    Try your neighbours wireless to access ultrasn0w or go through 3g network. (I found out my network's ISP bans certain urls and get the error message).
     
  17. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
  18. Edu115 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #18
    Is this true?

    I'm trying to ping redsn0w.com but with no response for now.
     
  19. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #19
    The server aint down. I thought so too. Try accessing it from another network.
     
  20. Rednexion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    #20
    I'm getting such a probme since last friday.Till then everething was ok with this repo.But now.Cydia gives me an error that sbzip2 cannot open files or cashed failure...or just dont add this repo666....but this is only when i'm on wi-fi.When i access Cydia with 3G or EDGE network...everethings is ok....so...let;s think how to fix it.Cuz problem is not in our Iphones,rednsow or even Cydia...i think smt blocks that url or repo
     
  21. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #21
    The solution to installing ultrasnow is either using 3g/edge or switching networks.

    Read this thread -------> http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/f204/76591.htm
     
  22. Rednexion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    #22
    But why this sh*t happened..cuz..i've always was unlocking phones with this app at home with my wifi....and from last friday i can not do this...
     

Share This Page